Providing Safety and

Hope for Arkansans

Providing Safety and Hope for Arkansans

Committed to public safety and providing professional management solutions and evidence-based rehabilitative initiatives for offenders

Board of Corrections

The Board of Corrections is the governing board of the Department of Corrections. The purpose of the Board of Corrections is to manage correctional resources in the state such that offenders are held accountable for their actions, victims’ needs are addressed in a positive manner, and the safety of society is enhanced. The specific powers and duties of the Board were established by Amendment 33 to the Arkansas Constitution and are codified in A.C.A. § 12-27-105 and § 25-43-401.

Board of CorrectionsPhone Number
Board Office870-267-6754
Compliance Administrator/Attorney – Mark Colbert870-267-6752
Executive Assistant – Shari Gray870-267-6754

The Arkansas Board of Corrections is comprised of seven (7) members appointed by the Governor for seven year staggered terms. Board members may be reached by contacting Shari Gray, Administrative Assistant, Arkansas Board of Corrections, P.O. Box 20550, White Hall, AR 71612.

Board of Corrections | Board MembersAppointment Expires
Benny Magness, ChairmanDecember 31, 2025
Rev. Tyrone Broomfield, Vice ChairmanDecember 31, 2024
Dr. William “Dubs” Byers, Secretary                  December 31, 2028
Lee WatsonDecember 31, 2026
Pastor Alonza JilesDecember 31, 2027
Brandon TollettDecember 31, 2030
Lona McCastlainFebruary 14, 2031

For FOIA requests, please email

Join Our Family

Interested in joining the Arkansas DOC family?

Check out our newly increased salaries!

Explore career opportunities and sign up for Career Alerts.