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Subtitle TO CREATE THE OFFENSE OF UNLAWFUL REMOVAL OR FAILURE TO CHARGE AN
ELECTRONIC MONITORING DEVICE.

Impact Summary! Cannot be determined.

Change from Current Law? Amends Title 5 of the Arkansas Code to add an additional section creating the
offense of Unlawful removal or failure to charge an electronic monitoring device, § 5-54-123. This fiscalimpact
will only address the felony provisions included in the proposed bill. A person commits Unlawful removal or
failure to charge an electronic monitoring device if, being ordered to wear an electronic monitoring device as a
condition of probation, parole, or release on a pending charge or disposition of a charge, the person 1) knowingly
removes the electronic monitoring device from his or her body, or 2) fails to properly charge the electronic
device and the failure to properly charge the electronic monitoring device prevents the electronic monitoring
device from tracking or monitoring the person’s location.

The penalty for Unlawful removal or failure to charge an electronic monitoring device is a Class D felony if the
offense for which the person is on probation or parole is a felony offense, ora Class C felony if the pending
charge or charge to be disposed of is a felony either before or after a determination of guilt of the charge.

The proposed bill also provides definitions for “Electronic monitoring device” and “Pending charge”.

Impact Information The proposed bill creates a new offense for which the likely number of convictions cannot
be determined. For this reason, the projected impact of the proposed bill cannot be determined.

! This impact assessment was prepared 3/30/2023 12:16 PM by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Corrections and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-simulation
model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following designations will be
used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs;
and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C  3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Upto 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



