# Arkansas Division of Community Correction Community Correction Centers Quick Reference Guide

The Arkansas Division of Community Correction operates six Community Correction Centers, which are residential correctional facilities that provide security, treatment programs, life skills, and other services designed to promote the deterrence of criminal behavior and reduce the need for longer-term incarceration.

General eligibility criteria include: target offense conviction, no felony detainer for a violent or sexual offense, no previous felony convictions for violent or sex crimes, no previous disciplinaries for violent or sexual misconduct while in a correctional facility, no record of mental health problems indicating violence, and the offender does not pose a risk to the community.



The following programs are available for eligible felony offenders sentenced by the courts.

## **JUDICIAL TRANSFER**

Eligible offenders convicted of non-violent, non-sexual target offenses may be sentenced to a CCC if the sentence is six years or less and the crime has a seriousness level of 6 or less. Those who complete the therapeutic program term to which they are assigned may be granted parole by the Parole Board.

## **ADMINISTRATIVE TRANSFER**

Eligible offenders convicted of non-violent, non-sexual target offenses who are sentenced to the ADC may be administratively transferred by the Department of Corrections to serve their sentence at a CCC under the same terms as a judicial transfer.

## **PROBATION PLUS**

Probationers may be ordered by the judge, as an added condition of their probation, to serve up to 365 days of incarceration at a CCC. Probation Plus offenders remain under the authority of the court and return to probation upon release from CCC.

# **DRUG COURT PROGRAMS**

Offenders participating in a drug court program may be sanctioned by their judge to the Short-Term Program for 30, 60, or 90 days of intensive drug treatment at a CCC, or to the Long-Term Program for 120-365 days. Drug court offenders remain under the authority of the court and return to drug court supervision upon release from CCC.

## **SUPERVISION SANCTION PROGRAM (SSP)**

A legislatively mandated sanction in lieu of revocation for probationers and parolees who commit technical violations of the conditions of their supervision. "Technical violation" includes absconders returned to supervision within six months. SSP is available for offenders with non-target offense convictions who meet other screening criteria.



	Statutes	Who	How Long	Jail Time Credit	How	Miscellaneous
Judicial Transfer	A.C.A. § 5-4- 312(b)(2)	Target Offenders sentenced to ≤ 6 years	Until Program Completion (6 months or same as ADC)	Towards Discharge Date only (not program completion)	Select "Jud. Tran." & "CCC" boxes on Sentencing Order	Seriousness Level 7 and above crimes not eligible
Administrative Transfer	A.C.A. § 12- 27-127(a)(2); A.C.A. § 5-4- 312(b)(2)	Target Offenders sentenced to ≤ 6 years	Until Program Completion (6 months or same as ADC)	Towards Discharge Date only (not program completion)	Select "ADC" boxes on Sentencing Order	Seriousness Level 7 and above crimes not eligible
Probation Plus/ SIS Plus	A.C.A. § 5-4- 304; § 5-4- 312(b)(1)(B)	Probationers/ SIS	Up to 365 days within a period of probation	Yes – towards completion of court-ordered period of confinement	Indicate # of days of confinement to accompany probation/SIS on Sentencing Order	Court retains jurisdiction
Short Term Drug Court	A.C.A. § 16- 98-303(b)	Drug Court Offenders	30, 60, or 90 days	No	Written Order of the Court	Court retains jurisdiction
Long Term Drug Court	A.C.A. § 16- 98-303(b)	Drug Court Offenders	120 to 365 days	Yes (same as Probation Plus)	Written Order of the Court	Court retains jurisdiction
Supervision Sanction Program	A.C.A. § 16-93-306 (probation); A.C.A. § 16-93-712, 715 (parole)	Probationers and Parolees	Probationers: 90 or 180 days; Parolees: 60 or 120 days	No	Waiver or sanction hearing	Can earn good time up to ½.

Scan the QR code on the right for a list of offenses denoting eligibility for placement in a Community Correction Center, or visit the website:

https://doc.arkansas.gov/community-correction/ccc-eligibility-target-offenses/

Sentencing forms and tips can be found on the Arkansas Sentencing Commission's website at: http://doc.arkansas.gov/sentencing-commission/forms-tips/

Errors on Sentencing Orders may require an amendment and delay intake into a Community Correction Center, including:

- Failure to check "The Court hereby orders a judicial transfer to the Department of Community Correction."
- Failure to include a specific date or another sentence that *nunc pro tunc* orders relate back to.

Final determination of eligibility for placement in a CCC rests with ACC. Ark. Code Ann. § 16-93-1202(10)(C). Questions regarding eligibility should be addressed to ACC Central Records at **(501) 682-9563** or **ACC.Referrals@arkansas.gov**.

Other questions regarding community corrections may be directed to our main number – (501) 682-9501.

