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 Introduction 
This handbook provides basic information about the Arkansas Division of 
Correction (ADC) policies and procedures. This handbook is intended to 
assist you during the time you are incarcerated. It contains a list of 
prohibited acts; provides a brief description of the disciplinary process; and 
outlines disciplinary actions which may be taken. Read this book 
thoroughly as you are expected to follow all policies, rules and comply 
with these regulations. You are encouraged to seek clarification when you 
have questions or are unclear about something. The ADC is committed to 
professionalism and strives to meet the strict guidelines set forth by the 
American Correctional Association. The rights and dignity of every person 
are respected in a spirit of staff, management and inmate cooperation. 
*The information in this handbook does not cover every possible 
situation, and it may not reflect recent changes in policy or procedures. 
 
ADC policies are available to you in your unit’s law library. You should 
always refer to the most recent policy as policies are reviewed annually for 
potential updates. You should focus on reentry from the day you arrive, as 
your actions will impact how you serve your time and whether you are 
better prepared upon your release. 
 
Mission Statement 
The mission of the Arkansas Division of Correction is to provide public 
safety by carrying out the mandates of the courts; provide a safe humane 
environment for staff and inmates; strengthen the work ethic through 
teaching of good habits; and provide opportunities for staff and inmates to 
improve spiritually, mentally, and physically. 
 

Vision Statement 
The vision of the Arkansas Division of Correction is to be an honorable 
and professional organization through ethical and innovative leadership at 
all levels, providing cost efficient, superior correctional services that return 
productive people to the community. 
 
Intake 
All inmates go through a diagnostic process called intake. During intake, 
inmates are given medical, mental health, and academic examination; court 
papers are reviewed; counselors gather information through interviews; 
program recommendations are made; a risk score is calculated; and a 
general orientation takes place. When possible, programming will begin 
during the intake period. 
 
You will be photographed during intake and have an inmate identification 
(ID) card made containing your picture and inmate ADC number (number 
and bar code). If your appearance changes at any time during your 
incarceration, a new photograph will be taken. You must wear the ID card  
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around your neck on an approved device provided by the ADC. Possession 
of or use of another inmate’s ID card is prohibited. Lost or stolen ID cards 
are to be reported and replaced immediately. An inmate’s account shall be 
charged $2 for replacing a card. Inmates will not be charged a replacement 
fee for cards replaced as a result of normal usage.  
 
Intake generally takes about 3 to 5 days, but it can last longer (i.e., COVID 
protocols, bed needs, security dictates different, etc.). It is during intake that 
inmates can set up an account to purchase items from the unit commissary. 
Inmates cannot have visitors during intake, but you will have access to a 
portable phone for the PREA report line and legal calls if needed; otherwise, 
no telephone use while in the lockdown area of intake. Once you move into 
the intake step-down barracks, telephone use is allowed. 
 
Inmate Statutory Responsibilities  
While in the custody of the ADC, you must follow department policies and 
all state and federal laws, including the requirement to file income tax 
returns if you have taxable income during the tax year. If you are unable to 
file income tax returns, it is your responsibility to ask for assistance. If you 
receive an income tax refund check, the appropriate tax agency will be 
contacted for approval before the check is deposited into your account. 
Other legal obligations do not terminate due to incarceration. You are still 
required to fulfill certain financial/legal obligations, such as child support 
during incarceration. However, you can petition the court that entered the 
order and request a modification of the obligation. 
 
Veterans Benefits and Social Security Income 
If you are receiving Veterans benefits or Social Security Income, that agency 
determines whether to continue sending the benefits to you. 
 
Initial Assignment 
After intake, inmates are transferred to a parent unit for their initial 
assignment. Exceptions for initial assignments may be made for health 
reasons, security concerns or program assignments. The initial assignment 
lasts a minimum of 60 days. Behavior, bed space, job availability, health and 
institutional needs dictate future assignments. 
 
Transfers 
Any inmate may request a transfer to another ADC unit. The request must be 
in writing and given to your Unit Warden and/or classification officer and 
should be placed in the unit mail. The decision to transfer an inmate is based 
upon available bed space, institutional needs, security level and other 
factors. 
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Classification 
Inmates are classified in three ways: custody classification, good-time 
earning classification and medical classification. Custody classification is the 
result of scoring established criteria including crime, length of sentence, 
disciplinary record, prior violence, escape history and various other factors 
that determine risk to the public and risk within the institution. Custody 
classification is used to determine which facilities an inmate can be assigned.  
Good-time classification places inmates in Class I, II, III or IV status. Class I 
is the highest classification/class status an inmate can obtain and Class IV is 
the lowest class status. Class promotion is not automatic. It is up to you to 
earn Class I status and your class can be reduced because of disciplinary 
problems. Promotions in class status are decided by the Unit Classification 
Committee, which makes the decisions based on your past and current 
behavior and recommendations from your work supervisor and/or other staff. 
The classification committee also makes transfer decisions, housing and 
work assignments.  
 
Class I - an inmate in class I status may receive a total of 30 days reduction 
of parole/transfer eligibility date for each month served. 
Class II - an inmate in class II status may receive a total of 20 days 
reduction of parole/transfer eligibility date for each month served. All 
inmates and parole violators will be placed in Class II status upon their 
arrival in ADC unless the inmate is being returned as the result of 
disciplinary action and has been reduced below Class II status. An offender 
released by the Parole Board may be reduced to this class by the Hearing 
Judge.  
Class III - an inmate in class III status may receive a total of 10 days 
reduction of parole/transfer eligibility for each month served. 
Class IV - inmates in class IV status do not receive good time. This class is 
generally referred to as “flat time” or “day-for-day”. 
 
Meritorious good time is not a right that inmates are entitled to; it is awarded 
based on good behavior, outstanding work record and institutional 
adjustment. Meritorious good time may be given for being housed in a jail or 
a similar secure facility while awaiting transfer to ADC, unless the sheriff or 
designee submits written objections to the award based on the inmates 
behavior, discipline and conduct while awaiting transfer. 
 
Healthcare professionals determine medical classifications and restrictions, 
which are considered in making work assignments. 
 
Work Assignments 
The Unit Classification Committee or Officer will make all work 
assignments. Programming assignments are considered work assignments. 
All inmates who are medically able are expected to work and disciplinaries 
will be written for refusing a work assignment. ADC does not pay wages to  
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to inmates, nor does ADC charge for basic hygiene items, meals, laundry 
services, etc. 
 
Unit Reassignments 
Any inmate may be assigned or reassigned to an appropriate unit because of 
poor institutional adjustment, disciplinary record, security concerns or 
institutional needs. 
 
Promotion and Reclassification 
After completing your initial assignment, you may apply to your immediate 
supervisor for promotion or reclassification. Reclassification is not 
automatic, you must apply for consideration. Your immediate supervisor 
must recommend a promotion or reclassification. To be eligible for 
consideration, you must not be found guilty of a major rule violation for at 
least 60 days. If you receive a minor disciplinary, warning, reprimand or 
suspended sentence, you are not eligible for consideration for 30 days. If you 
are found guilty of a rule violation, you will not be eligible for consideration 
until the designated period has expired unless specifically approved by the 
Warden. This period does not include time you spent in punitive 
isolation. 
Examples below include: 
      Infraction            Time 
• Possession/introduction/use of cell phone   1 year 
• Assault/battery of an employee or throwing  
 any substance           1 year 
• Felonious battery          1 year 
• Escape or attempted escape       1 year 
• Homicide or attempted homicide      1 year 
• Possession/manufacture of contraband    1 year 
• Third or subsequent guilty verdict for Indecent 
 Exposure and/or Masturbation       1 year 
• Sexual activity           3 months 
• Tobacco, drugs and alcohol       3 months 
 
After receiving reclassification, you must not receive a disciplinary for at 
least 30 days before appearing before the Unit Classification Committee to 
ask for another reclassification. 
 
Detainer 
A detainer is a hold placed on an inmate by a law enforcement agency that 
has charges pending against the inmate. 
 
Interstate Compact 
Under the Interstate Compact Agreement, an inmate can serve his/her 
Arkansas sentence in another state’s correctional system but only under  
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certain circumstances and only if both states agree. Interstate Compact 
inmates that are housed in the ADC for another state, cannot be awarded 
Class IA, IB or otherwise a class status that allows the inmate to work 
outside the confinements of the fence without armed supervision. 
  
Following Orders 
You must follow lawful orders. If you violate the rules either by failing 
to act (such as reporting for work on time) or by acting in ways that are 
contrary to the rules, you will be disciplined. Always follow the last 
instructions given by staff. 
 
Living in a Prison Setting 
Your cooperation and attitude toward yourself, staff and other inmates, 
play an important role in how you will get along. The staff is here to 
help while making sure that order and safety are maintained in the 
institution. When talking to staff and other inmates, you are expected to 
use a respectful tone and words. 
 
Rehabilitation is a word that you will hear a lot. It means a rebuilding of 
attitudes, values, work skills, and education. The ADC provides many 
programs that can help you with the rebuilding process, and you are 
encouraged to take advantage of the services offered, including 
substance abuse treatment, classes to assist with anger management, 
religious programs, reentry programs, academic education, career and 
technical education and work programs. Seek out opportunities to 
improve your skills to be successful in the future. 
 
Lights Out 
Normally, bedtime/lights out will be at 10:30 p.m. nightly. At that time, 
all televisions will be turned off. The Warden may, at his/her discretion, 
occasionally authorize special events beyond this time. At the discretion 
of the Warden, if you have an approved radio, MP3 Player or MP4 
Player with headphones or a tablet, you may continue to listen after 
lights out. Radios can be purchased through the commissary and tablets 
are issued at each facility if the inmate meets the criteria. Tablets are 
returned upon release (i.e., parole or discharge). 
 
Cleanliness 
You are expected to be neat and clean, and the ADC provides basic 
items necessary for good grooming. During intake, you are issued 
personal hygiene items and clothing, which will be laundered regularly 
and kept in good condition. You may buy additional grooming items 
from the commissary. You are encouraged to shower regularly. Barber 
or beautician services are available that comply with the ADC grooming 
policy. 



9 

 

Any time you leave your living area, you should be dressed properly.  
This means shoes, socks, pants, shirts, and other apparel. 
 
It is your responsibility to keep your living area clean and orderly. You 
are not allowed to attach anything to any walls, windows, ceiling, or 
floor of the institution, whether you live in a barracks, cell or room. Your 
bed should be neatly made before leaving your living area. 
 
Grooming Policy 
All inmates are expected to conform to the grooming policy. All inmates 
must maintain a hair style that is worn loose, clean and neatly combed. 
No styles are permitted that make it difficult to search the hair. No 
extreme styles are permitted, including cornrows, braids, ponytails, dread 
locks or mohawks. No inmates are permitted to wear or possess 
hairpieces, weaves, or wigs. If an inmate chooses to maintain facial hair, 
it must be worn loose, clean and neatly combed. If an inmate chooses to 
maintain facial hair, he will be required to shave so that his appearance 
without facial hair can be documented. Nails on hands and feet will be 
clipped so as not to extend beyond the tip of fingers or toes.  
 
You must maintain standards of hygiene that do not create a health 
hazard or public nuisance. If your personal hygiene falls below these 
standards, the Chief of Security (CSO) may order steps to gain your 
compliance. Failure to abide by grooming standards is grounds for 
disciplinary action. 
 
Personal Clothing 
The ADC provides uniforms, undergarments, a pair of shoes, soap, 
toothbrush, toothpaste, safety razor with blade, bath towels and feminine 
hygiene items. Seasonal items may also be provided such as a toboggan 
cap, jacket or coat and thermal underwear. 
 
Jewelry 
Personal jewelry allowed includes one wristwatch, one plain metal ring 
or wedding band and one religious medal or emblem worn on your ID 
chain. The religious medal/emblem must be approved by the chaplain. 
The value of each item cannot exceed $50. A wedding band can have a 
higher value, but you must sign a waiver of liability. 
 
Inmate Lockers/Locks 
When lockers are necessary, the ADC may provide them to you; 
however, at some facilities we may not. If lockers are provided, locks are 
available in the commissary. The lock’s combination must be provided to 
the security office. The administration reserves the right to maintain 
access to all lockers. If the combination is not made available to the 
administration, entry will be made at your expense. 
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Property 
Property is defined as: 
1. Personal Property - items that are owned by you and are authorized to 
be retained on your person or in your living or storage area. 
2.  State Issued Property - items that are issued to you by the institution 
and may be retained within a reasonable amount.  
 
Property Transfer 
If you are transferred to another unit, your property will also be 
transferred. If there are excessive items or items not allowed at that unit, 
you may send the items home at your expense, have someone pick up 
the items at the unit, or authorize the destruction of the items. 
 
When an emergency situation is declared, the ADC is not responsible for 
any property that is lost, stolen, damaged, consumed or discarded. 
 
Photographs 
You may have up to five personal photographs that are not nude or 
sexually suggestive. Photographs cannot contain subject matter that is 
disruptive in nature or would threaten security or the good order of the 
institution. Digital pictures or images generated by a computer and 
xerox copies are considered to be photographs. Photographs may not be 
any larger than 8 1/2 x 11 inches. Such photographs may contain either 
single or multiple digital images/pictures. However, when digital 
images/pictures are cut from an 8 1/2 x 11 inch sheet, it will no longer 
be considered as one. Each image cut from the sheet will be counted as 
one of the inmate’s five authorized photographs. 
 
Enemy Alert Lists 
If you request that another inmate be placed on your enemy alert list, the 
Chief of Security and the Warden will determine whether the alert is 
warranted. Staff cannot be placed on an inmate’s enemy alert list, but a 
staff separation can be entered if determined necessary by the ADC. 
 
Fire/Safety Evacuation 
Each living area is equipped with an evacuation plan. It is your duty to 
become familiar with the evacuation plan. 
 
Count 
For count to go as quickly as  possible, you are expected to cooperate. 
No movement is allowed during count time. Whenever count time is 
called, an Officer will explain what to do. If you are in your living 
quarters or work area, remain there unless directed otherwise by staff. 
Failure to cooperate will result in disciplinary action.   
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Searches/Shake Downs 
For everyone’s protection, you, your personal property, your work area 
and your living quarters can be searched at any time. You do not have to 
be present during property or living quarter searches. You should not 
“hold” any items for another inmate, nor “pass” an item for another 
inmate as you are responsible for any item(s) found on you or in your 
area. 
 
Contraband 
Any article not authorized nor issued to you as personal property or state 
property, nor purchased by you from the commissary, is considered 
contraband. Articles in excess of established limits, articles used for 
unauthorized purpose and/or articles in your possession in an 
unauthorized area are considered contraband. Any item altered from its 
original state is also considered contraband. Please also know that not 
only are we issuing internal disciplinaries to inmates who are found 
to be in possession of a cell phone, we are also referring the matter to 
the Arkansas State Police for investigation and possible criminal 
prosecution. 
 
Tobacco Regulations 
All ADC facilities are tobacco free facilities. You are not allowed to have 
any kind of tobacco products. If you are caught with tobacco, the 
appropriate disciplinary action will be taken against you for possession 
contraband. 
 
Substance Abuse 
Prescribed medications should be taken according to an authorized 
doctor’s order only. Drugs and alcohol are not permitted. Synthetic drugs 
(i.e. synthetic marijuana (K2), spice, bath salts) are not intended for 
human consumption. When these drugs are produced, each batch can 
contain different chemicals that are likely to produce effects that are 
life-threatening and could cause death. K2, Methamphetamine (meth), 
and other related synthetic drugs are highly dangerous and can cause 
seizures, vomiting, hallucinations, aggression, paranoia, anxiety and 
panic attacks among users. The possession and use of these drugs and 
alcohol will not be tolerated, and you will be subject to disciplinary 
action and criminal prosecution. 
 
Food Service 
Every effort is made to provide, prepare and serve a variety of nutritious 
foods. Do not waste food. At least three meals or their equivalent shall be 
served daily unless an inmate with a recognized medical condition is 
required to be served more often. Meals will be served at regular 
scheduled times during each 24-hour period with no more than 14 hours 
occurring between the breakfast and evening meals. Exceptions to this  
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14-hour interval may be authorized for weekends and/or holidays as to 
the serving of two meals on weekends/holidays. If your religious 
practices prevent you from eating certain meats, nutritional substitutes  
are offered. A small sign indicating “Pork Free” is placed on the steam  
table indicating each food item that does not contain pork. A quiet, 
orderly, and timely demeanor will be maintained in the chow hall. After 
you are finished eating, you will immediately leave the kitchen area. 
 
Alternative Meal Service 
Any inmate may be placed on an alternative meal service if observed 
misusing food, serving trays, utensils or any items used to prepare, serve 
or package meals. An alternative meal is a loaf-style form of 
nourishment designed to be eaten without the need for utensils. Water is 
the only beverage available with the alternative meal, unless the 
responsible facility health provider prescribes a substitute beverage for 
medical reasons. Alternative meal service will be for seven (7) 
consecutive days or 21 meals before the inmate returns to regular tray 
meal. The Unit Warden may reduce the number of alternative meals, if 
appropriate.  
 
Foreign Nationals 
When foreign nationals who commit offenses and are incarcerated in an 
ADC facility, if contacted, the ADC will ensure foreign national inmates 
have access to diplomatic representative of their country of citizenship in 
accordance with ADC guidelines. 
 
Security Terrorist Threat Groups (STTG) 
It is extremely important that each inmate understands the ZERO 
TOLERANCE level of Security/Terrorist Threat Groups (STTG) 
activity in the ADC. No wearing or marking clothing, in a fashion or 
colors that would depict a gang, either in affiliation or slang (no sagging, 
pant leg rolled up one side, etc.); no drawing, writing, or pictures, that 
could be considered paraphernalia associated with a gang; no 
correspondence, either incoming and outgoing, that would be considered 
gang affiliated; no codes, slang, or alphabets of any type will be 
tolerated; no throwing/flashing hand signs or body language associated 
to or against any gang; no possession of any item(s) associated with a 
gang. This will be considered contraband, and appropriate action will be 
taken. No conversation with other inmates about gang activities, meeting 
or recruitment will be tolerated. 
 
Telephone Use 
During set hours, you are allowed to make collect calls to people on your 
approved telephone list. Three-way calling and call forwarding is not 
allowed. All calls except those to an attorney or a known outside rape 
counseling services, will be recorded and may be monitored. 
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Emergency Messages 
The Chaplain or mental health office will notify you about family 
emergencies 
 
Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) 
On Sept. 4, 2003, the Federal Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) was 
signed into law. It applies to all confinement institutions housing adult 
and juvenile offenders. The Arkansas Department of Corrections has 
a “zero-tolerance” policy regarding the sexual abuse of inmates by 
staff or other inmates.  This applies to ALL employees, contractors, 
volunteers, student interns and persons or organizations conducting 
business with the ADC and all inmates under the custody or 
supervision of the ADC.  
 
Sexual abuse or harassment by a staff member 
Arkansas law prohibits any person working in a correctional setting or in  
law enforcement from engaging in any sexual act with an inmate. A staff 
member is in a position of power and authority over an inmate. 
Therefore, with respect to a sexual act between a staff member and an 
inmate, there is NO SUCH THING AS CONSENSUAL.   
 
Additionally, it is never, under any circumstances, okay for staff to 
engage in sexual abuse or harassment of an inmate. Staff can be charged 
with a felony! 
 
As a matter of policy, inmates cannot engage in sexual activity. 
Consensual sexual activity between inmates is against ADC policy and 
violations will result in administrative sanctions.  
 
Sexual abuse or harassment by an inmate 
Sexual abuse is the use of debt, threat of physical harm, peer pressure, 
deceit, personal favors or positional authority to force or cajole sexually 
abusive contacts, penetration and harassment.  

• Do not become involved in an exchange of sex for inmate protection 
or to pay debts 

• Do no accept an offer from another inmate for protection. Avoid 
becoming involved in gang activity 

• Do not accept commissary items, gifts, loans or favors from anyone. 
Placing yourself in debt to another can lead to the expectation of 
repayment with sexual favors 

• Avoid talking about sex and casual nudity. Such conduct may lead 
another to believe that you have interest in a sexual relationship 

 
Sexual Assault is a Crime! 
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Speak up. Do not be a silent victim of sexual assault or rape. Sexual 
assault is not part of your sentence!  
 
If you have been sexually assaulted, feel you are being pressured into a 
sexual relationship, or feel you are being sexually harassed, you have 
multiple methods to report sexual assault/abuse, harassment and 
retaliation: 
• Call the PREA Report Line from any inmate telephone 

•  *0870267 

• Call the toll free Arkansas State Police PREA Report Line from any 
inmate telephone 

• Tell a trusted staff member, security officer or any supervisor 
• You can write a note  
• You can utilize the inmate grievance procedure (please note that 

there is no time limit for submitting a PREA grievance) 
• You can send a letter or note to the Warden/Center Supervisor at 

your facility 

• You can send a letter or note to the PREA Compliance Manager at 
your facility 

• You can send a letter or note to the Department’s PREA Coordinator 
• You can have a family member or friend make a report to the 

Warden or DOC PREA Coordinator 
• You can send a confidential correspondence to a designated 

community-based Victim advocacy group (such correspondence will 
be treated as legal mail) 

 
All calls will be reviewed. The PREA Report Line is reserved for 
legitimate use. Abuse of the PREA Report line (calls not related to 
PREA matters) may result in disciplinary action being taken against you. 
 
Investigating allegation of sexual abuse 
Report the incident to staff immediately or call the PREA Report Line,   
1-870-267-6533. An immediate referral will be made to Health Services 
for a physical examination and completion of a rape kit test. Do not 
shower or clean yourself after the incident because it will interfere with 
the rape test results. A timely and thorough investigation will be 
conducted. Evidence will be collected and stored. To protect the victim, 
rape complaints will be restricted to those individuals who investigate, 
provide assistance or prosecute. The victim will be placed in a safe place 
where he/she is not subject to retaliation. The unit’s PREA Response 
Team will be notified and will assist the inmate. Statements will be taken 
from witnesses and findings will be documented. The case may result in 
discipline and/or referred for criminal prosecution. 
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Inmate Grievance Procedure 
Please note that this is just a summary of the Inmate Grievance 
Procedure. The Inmate Grievance Procedure is governed by the 
appropriate Administrative Directive and NOT this summary. All 
inmates will be provided access to the appropriate Administrative 
Directive that governs the Inmate Grievance Procedure. 
 
Step One:  Informal Resolution Form 
The Unit Level Grievance Form (Attachment I) must be completed by 
the inmate within 15 days from the date of the incident with the date 
beside “Step One: Informal Resolution” filled in. If the inmate is 
alleging sexual assault, sexual misconduct/harassment by staff or 
physical abuse, then the inmate is not required to complete Step One, but 
should complete a Unit Level Grievance Form (Attachment II) with a 
date beside “Emergency Grievance” and present it to any staff, but 
preferably the designated Problem Solving Staff. PREA grievances are 
not subject to the 15-day time limit. Please also know that an inmate 
cannot grieve on behalf of another inmate. 
 
An inmate presents the Unit Level Grievance Form (Attachment I) 
directly to a designed  problem-solving staff. Only in the space provided 
the inmate should write a brief statement that is specific to the 
complaint. Include the date, place, personnel involved and/or witnesses 
and how the policy or incident affected you. Additional sheets cannot be 
attached at any level of the process. However, additional sheets attached 
to PREA grievances will be maintained with the grievance. 
 
The Problem Solver has 3 working days to resolve the issue at Step One, 
informal level. If the problem cannot be resolved at the informal level or 
if the Problem Solver does not respond within the allotted time, the 
inmate may proceed to Step Two, the formal grievance level, within 3 
working days. 
 
Step Two:  Formal Grievance Procedure 
After attempting to resolve an issue through Step One, Informal 
Resolution, an inmate can proceed to Step Two, Formal Grievance, on 
the same Unit Level Grievance Form (Attachment I) that was used for 
Step One. The inmate should complete the date beside “Step Two”: 
Formal Grievance” and the section regarding resubmission (of this form) 
as to why the inmate considers the informal resolution unsuccessful, and 
deposit it into the designated grievance box; or submit it to a staff 
member if the inmate’s assignment prevents access to the grievance box. 
 
Once the grievance has been answered at the unit level, if the inmate is 
not satisfied with the response given, the grievance can be appealed 
within 5 working days to the appropriate Chief Deputy/Deputy/Assistant  
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Director. At that point, the inmate has exhausted his/her administrative 
remedies. 
 
Inmates are only allowed to submit three Step Two, Formal Grievances, 
each seven-day period that begins each Saturday and ends on Friday; 
unless an emergency exists. 
 
If an inmate is unable to read or write, an officer, other staff or an 
inmate can help fill out the forms.  
 
Emergency Grievances 
Emergency grievances should be declared for ordinary problems that are 
not of a serious nature. If the inmate believes the matter to be an 
emergency, he/she will fill in on the date beside “Emergency Grievance” 
on the Unit Level Grievance Form, (Attachment I) to designate an 
emergency. Staff will determine if an emergency does exist.  
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Major Disciplinary Process 
The major disciplinary form will be used in filing major 
disciplinary reports against you. This form will inform you in 
writing of the details of the rule infractions. Please note that this is 
just a summary of the Disciplinary Process. The Disciplinary 
Process is governed by the appropriate Administrative Directive 
and NOT this summary.  
 
1. You will receive a copy of the major disciplinary report at least 24 
 hours  prior to the major disciplinary court hearing. 
 
2. At the time you are served the disciplinary report, if you want to call 
 witnesses, this is the time to do it by giving the notifying officer the  
 names of the individuals you wish to call. There may be a limit on 
 how many witnesses you can call. The Chief Security Officer at the 
 unit determines this limit. You will not be allowed to gather and 
 submit witness statements on your own. 
 
3. The major disciplinary court hearing shall meet or be held by Video 
 Conference as often as necessary at a convenient place and time 
 between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. No disciplinary will be 
 heard after seven (7) business days (excluding weekends and 
 holidays) from the date it was written except pursuant to an 
 authorized extension.  
 
4. You will be allowed to present at your hearing, but you will not be 
 forced to attend. You may waive your appearance by signing a 
 waiver form or failing to attend when disciplinary court is called. If 
 you waive your right to appear and are found guilty, you cannot 
 appeal the decision. 
 
5. The hearing will be conducted as follows: 

 a.  When the Disciplinary Hearing Officer (DHO) is ready to hear  
  your case, you will be called into the room, and the DHO will  
  identify any people present at the hearing for the record. 

 b.  You will be informed of the specific charges against you and the  
  possible consequences of a finding of guilt. 

 c. You should then be asked whether the nature of the proceeding  
  and the possible consequences are understood. If it appears that  
  you do not understand, the policy regarding Counsel Substitutes  
  must be followed. Counsel Substitutes shall consist of staff   
  members as designated by the Warden. Counsel Substitutes have 
  no voice in the decision making of the court. All inmates have the 
  right to refuse a Counsel Substitute. 
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 d.  The DHO will read the disciplinary report to you and ask for your  
  plea to each charge. There are only two acceptable pleas, “guilty” or 
   “not guilty”. Any plea other than these, or refusing to enter a plea,  
  will be considered as a plea of not guilty. 

 e.  You will be given opportunity to make a statement on your behalf and 
  present documentary evidence (other than witness statements). After 
  you have made a statement and/or presented a defense, the recorder  
  will be muted and witness statements will be reviewed and    
  documented. 

 f. The charged inmate has no right to confront and cross-examine an  
  informant against you or know the informant’s identity or statement. 
  It is mandatory that any time confidential informant information is  
  provided, the DHO shall ensure that the confidential information does 
  not become known to other inmates.  
 
 g. After the DHO has weighed all of the evidence, a decision shall be  
  made regarding guilt or innocence. The Video Conferencing System 
  will then be un-muted. You must then be informed as to the finding of 
  guilt or innocence on each particular rule violation and you must be  
  informed of the punishment, if any, imposed.  
 
 h. You will be advised of your right to appeal any or all guilty decisions 
  of the DHO. 
 
6. Within 24 hours you will be provided a copy or ISSR 1000 (electronic  
 generated disciplinary hearing results form) of the results of the    
 hearing. 
 
7. Guilty verdict of Major Disciplinaries will be published on the 
 Department’s website pursuant to a 2015 state law. 
 
Appeal of Major Disciplinary Action 
If you do not agree with the DHO decision, you have the right to appeal any 
decision of, or disciplinary action taken by the DHO through the following 
process. 
 
1. Complete a major disciplinary appeal form. This should be addressed to 
 the Warden of the unit/center where the incident  occurred. All grounds 
 for appeal should be briefly stated and include the reasons why the 
 conviction or punishment should be reversed or  modified.  This 
 statement will be considered at all levels of appeal and  may not be 
 rewritten at each stage. You must submit this appeal in writing fifteen 
 (15) business days after a copy of the DHO’s report is given to you. 
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2. The Warden has thirty (30) business days from receipt of the appeal to 
 respond, except that if you are serving punitive time as a result of the  
 of the  disciplinary, the Warden should answer the appeal within ten (10) 
 business days, if possible. Inmates not serving punitive time are not 
 permitted to mark yes beside “Punitive Appeal”. 

3. If the Warden upholds the original decision of the DHO’s verdict and 
you  are not satisfied with the response, you have fifteen (15) business 
days  from receipt of the Warden’s decision, to appeal to the Disciplinary 
Hearing Administrator (DHA). To appeal to the DHA, you must submit 
the same disciplinary appeal form that was submitted to the Warden. Be 
sure to identify the disciplinary by date, time and charging person. Do 
not send your copy of your disciplinary report, hearing action sheets, or 
additional pages because copies of these are filed in the DHA’s office 
and are reviewed with your appeal. Any documentation submitted will 
not be returned. The DHA has thirty (30) business days to respond. 

4. If the DHA upholds the decision of the original verdict, and you disagree 
with the DHA’s response, you have fifteen (15) business days from 
receipt of the DHA’s decision to appeal to the Director. Again, you 
submit the same disciplinary appeal form that was submitted to the 
Warden and the DHA. The Director has thirty (30) business days to 
respond. The Director’s decision is final. 

5. During any stage of the appeal, the reviewer may affirm the action of the 
DHO or modify it as he/she deems just and proper; except at no point in 
the appeal process shall the penalty be increased. 

6. In cases where a disciplinary is written by a Warden, you may bypass the 
appeal to the Warden and appeal to the DHA. 

Minor Disciplinary Process 
Minor Discipline should be used as a tool to discourage less serious 
misconduct. The rule violations for which you may receive a Minor 
Disciplinary are identical to those violations for which a Major Disciplinary 
may be written. Minor Disciplinaries are within the discretion of the charging 
person. 

1. The Minor Disciplinary Hearing Officer (MDO) must hear the 
disciplinary within seven (7) business days of the incident. 

2. You will be allowed to be present and to make a statement on your 
behalf. 

3. After hearing the charges against you and your defense and testimony, 
the MDO shall render his/her decision as to guilt or innocence and the 
appropriate action to be taken. 
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Minor Disciplinary Sanctions 
The MDO, upon determining that an inmate is guilty of a minor violation 
of institutional rules and regulations, may take any or all of the following 
actions: 

 1. Warning, reprimand, or excuse the   inmate 
 2. Revoke privileges for up to twenty (20) days 
 3. Assign extra duty. Extra duties must not exceed two (2) hours per 
  day and a maximum of ten (10) days 
 4. At no time shall an inmate be put in Restrictive Housing by the  
  decision of the MDO. Good time and Class Status shall not be 
  reduced by the MDO. 
 5. Findings of the MDO may be appealed to the Chief of Security.  
  The Chief of Security may affirm, reverse or modify the    
  decision of the MDO. The Chief of Security decision is final.  
 
Behavior Rules and Regulations 
The following rules and regulations shall govern inmate behavior at all 
units and are found in the disciplinary policy in the unit library. Please 
note that some rule numbers are not in order as categories were 
combined, but historical information will be maintained. Numbers 
reserved for  historical purposes are not listed in this handbook or policy. 
The “bold” words below indicate what should display on the ADC 
website for major rule violations. In some instances it will be the 
category, but if words in the specific rule violation are bolded, those 
words will display on the website. 
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GROUP DISRUPTION CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

1-1. Banding together for any reason which disrupts unit operations 
which may include taking over any part of the unit or property 
of the ADC, seizing one (1) or more persons as hostages, or 
interrupting operations. Rule violation may result in loss of all 
good time. 

 
 

A 

1-6. Direct involvement in writing, circulating or signing a petition, 
letter, or similar declaration that poses a threat to the security of 
the facility. 

 
B 

1-7. Any rule violation set forth above that is found to be related to 
recruitment or participation in a security threat group, or is 
motivated by racial, religious, or gender discrimination. Rule 
violation may result in the loss of all good time. 

 
A 

Individual Disruptive Behavior Category 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

2-2. Under the influence of and/or any use of illicit drugs, alcohol, 
intoxicating chemicals or any medication in an unauthorized 
manner (e.g. includes but are not limited to, slurred speech, 
incoherent speech, redness of the eyes, vomiting, cannot stand 
on his/her own, etc.) . 

 
 

A 
 

2-3. Monetary Misconduct - Entering into unauthorized 
contractual agreements, failure to turn in all checks or monies 
received, obtaining money through fraud or misrepresentation 
(examples include, but are not limited to, buying articles on a 
payment plan, failure to turn in tips received on work-release, 
or misleading someone to obtain money). 

 
 

A 

2-4. Employment Misconduct - Work Release inmates who quit a 
job without prior approval, get fired for misconduct, tardiness, 
or shirking duties, or fail to notify ADC staff when too ill to 
work. 

 
B 
 

2-5. Unauthorized use of mail or telephone - Includes passing 
unauthorized messages, three-way communication(s), calling 
on another’s phone code, posing as another person, and 
telephone communications with unauthorized persons. 

 
B 

2-11. Tattooing, piercing, and self-mutilation intended to change 
oneself or another’s appearance; this does not include attempts 
to commit suicide or injure oneself unless solely for 
manipulation. See AR834 Procedure for Handling Alleged 
Disciplinary Infractions of Mentally Disordered Inmates. 

 
B 
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 GROUP DISRUPTION CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

2-12. Failure to keep one’s person or quarters - in accordance 
with regulations, or failure to wear ADC-issued ID, or clothing 
according to center/unit policy. 

 
C 

2-13. Breaking into, or causing disruption of an inmate line or 
interfering with operations. 

 
B 

2-15. Tampering with, or blocking, any lock or locking device. A 
 

2-16. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing or submitting a 
diluted sample. 

 
A 

2-17. Creating unnecessary noise, including disruptive or aggressive 
play in areas other than designed recreation areas. 

 
C 

2-20. Unauthorized communication, contact, or conduct with a 
visitor or any member of the public or staff. 

 
B 

2-21. Running from, avoiding, or otherwise resisting apprehension. A 

2-22. Interfering with the taking of count. A 

3-3. Unexcused absence from work/school assignment or other 
program activity. 

 
B 

3-5. Out of place of assignment. B 

5-5. Provoking or agitating a fight. B 

11-1. Insolence to a staff member. A 

12-2. Refusal of job assignment including participating in a 
treatment program, or class assignment, or violating rules that 
results in dismissal from a program. 

 
B 
 

12-3. Failure or refusing to obey verbal and/or written order(s) of 
staff. 

 
B 

12-4. Refusing a direct verbal order to leave or enter any area of 
the institution or ADC property including, but not limited to, a 
cell, barracks, chow hall, transportation vehicle, hallway or 
work site. 

 
 

A 

12-5. Failure or refusal to leave restrictive housing and return to 
population. 

 
A 

13-2. Lying to a staff member, including omissions, and providing 
misinformation. 

 
B 

13-3. Malingering, feigning an illness. B 
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TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

BATTERY CATEGORY 

4-4. Battery on Staff - Use of physical force upon staff (examples 
include, but are not limited to, staff, volunteers, vendors and/or 
contractors). 

 
A 

4-5. Aggravated Battery - Use of a weapon, or injury resulting in 
victim(s) having to go to the emergency room and/or hospital, 
in battery upon another person. This rule violation will result in 
loss of all good time and the loss for one (1) calendar year of 
the privilege to purchase. 

 
 

A 

4-8. Battery - Use of physical force upon an inmate. A 

4-17. Throwing or attempting to throw substances, known or 
unknown, toward or upon another person. Rule violation may 
result in loss of all good time. 

 
A 

ASSAULT CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

5-3. Assault - Any willful attempt or threat(s) to inflict injury upon 
another, directly or indirectly, verbally or in writing. 

 
A 

5-4. Making sexual threat(s) to another person, directly or 
indirectly, verbally or in writing. 

 
A 

THEFT, DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY OR EXTORTION CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

6-1. Demanding/receiving money or favors or anything of value in 
return for an offer/promise of protection from others, or to keep 
information secret. 

 
A 

7-1. Unauthorized use of state property/supplies. B 

7-4. Theft or possession of stolen property. A 

8-4. Destruction or intentional misplacement of property of 
another or the ADC. Restitution may be ordered based on 
replacement cost, or the value of lost, intentionally misplaced, 
or destroyed property. 

 
A 

8-6. Adulteration of any food(s) or drink(s) with intent to harm 
others. Rule violation may result in the loss of all good time. 

A 

8-7. Setting a fire or destruction or tampering with fire detection or 
suppression device. 

A 
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TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

POSSESSION/MANUFACTURE OF CONTRABAND CATEGORY 

9-1. Possession/introduction of any firearm, ammunition, weapon, 
fireworks, explosive, unauthorized combustible substance, or 
unauthorized tool. Rule violation may result in loss of all good 
time. 

 
A 
 

9-3. Possession/introduction/manufacture of any drug, narcotic 
intoxicant, tobacco, chemical, or drug paraphernalia not 
prescribed by medical staff. 

 

A 

9-4. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless 
specifically authorized. 

A 

9-5. Possession/Introduction of clothing or property not issued to 
inmate nor authorized by the center/unit. 

C 

9-9. Counterfeiting, forging, or unauthorized possession/introduction 
of any document, article of identification, money, security or 
official paper. 

A 

9-14. Possession/introduction/use of unauthorized electronic device
(s): Examples include, but are not limited to, flash drive, MP 
Player, Tablet, DVD Player, etc. Rule violation will result in the 
loss of all good time and will result in the loss of the Inmate 
Telephone System privileges for one (1) year. Possession of a 
cell phone is a crime which may result in criminal prosecution 
for a felony. 

 

A 

9-15. Possession/introduction/use of a cell phone or any cell phone 
component: Example include, but are not limited to, sim cards, 
charger, battery, etc. or an unauthorized messaging device. Rule 
violation will result in the loss of all good time and will result in 
the loss of the Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) 
year. Possession of a cell phone is a crime which may result in 
criminal prosecution for a felony. 

 
A 

 

9-16. Use of internet or social media. A 

9-17. Preparing, conducting, or participating in a gambling operation. B 

SEXUAL ACTIVITY CATEGORY 

10-1. Engaging in non-abusive sexual activity with another 
consenting person. 

A 

10-2. Making sexual proposals to another person. (PREA) A 
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10-3. Indecent exposure and/or masturbation; may result in a referral 
for criminal prosecution (examples include, but are not limited 
to, verbal and/or non-verbal gestures). 

A 

10-4. Bestiality. A 

10-5. Masturbation in the presence of another inmate. A 

10-7. Demanding sexual contact in trade or for protection from 
physical harm or mental anguish, or other victimization. 

A 

4-10. Rape or forced sexual act with/on an inmate. Rule violation 
may result in the loss of all good time. (PREA) Rape is a crime 
and may result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y Felony. If 
convicted, may result in a life sentence. 

 
A 

4-19. Rape or forced sexual act on staff, volunteer, contractor or 
other individual not incarcerated at the time of the incident. 
Rule violation may result in the loss of all good time. Rape is a 
crime and may result in criminal prosecution for a Class Y 
Felony. If convicted, may result in a life sentence. 

 

A 

TRAFFICKING AND TRADING CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

15-2. Asking, coercing, or offering inducement to anyone to violate 
ADC policy or procedure, inmate rules and regulations, center/
unit operating procedures, this also includes extortion. 

 
A 

15-3. The purchase or exchange of unauthorized articles or authorized 
articles obtained through unauthorized channels. 

B 

ESCAPE CATEGORY 

TYPE                   PENALTY CLASS 

16-1. Escape from custody of the ADC; may result in the loss of all 
good time and/or result in referral for criminal prosecution. 

A 

16-2. Failure to return from any approved activity or furlough at the 
designed time. 

A 

16-3. Attempted escape, including leaving a work release job site or 
work detail, while in the custody of the ADC. This includes but 
is not limited to, written notes regarding escape, phone call 
recordings advising escape plans, and verbal threats to escape, 
etc. 

 
A 
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Range of allowable sanctions 

 

 1. Penalty Class “A” 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 2. Penalty Class “B” 

 

 

a. Punitive Housing up to thirty (30) days. Inmates serving a punitive 
disciplinary sentence shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned good time up to 365 days  (loss of all good time is 
allowable for offenses listed that include the statement “may result in 
loss of all good time”). 

c. If the use of the Inmate Telephone System is involved, it shall result 
in the loss of telephone privileges for one (1) year. 

d. Loss of designed privileges, up to sixty (60) days, or the loss of a 
commissary item(s) up to three hundred sixty five (365) days if such 
commissary item(s) were used in the commission of the disciplinary 
infraction. 

e. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, 
intentionally misplaced, or destroyed property. 

f. Reduction of up to three (3) steps in class. 

g. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to thirty (30) days. 

h. Possession/introduction/use of a cell phone will result in the loss of 
Inmate Telephone System privileges for one (1) year. 

i.  For PREA related violations, referral to the Classification Committee 
for consideration of precautions based on the findings of the 
investigation and outcome of the Disciplinary Hearing. The 
Classification Committee will consider PREA status in housing and 
job assignments and potential placement in programming based on 
the outcome. 

j. An inmate found guilty of escape or attempted escape, felonious 
battery, homicide or attempted homicide, possession/manufacture of 
contraband, throwing or attempting to throw substance, and third or 
subsequent guilty verdict for Indecent Exposure and/or Masturbation 
that carries a Class A penalty will not be eligible for class promotion 
and/or reclassification for one (1) year unless the Warden 
recommends to the Classification Committee that the inmate be 
considered for promotion and/or reclassification. 

a. Punitive Isolation up to fifteen (15) days. Inmates serving a punitive 
disciplinary sentence shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned good time up to one hundred fifty (150) days. 
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 3. Penalty Class “C” 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Upon determining that an inmate is guilty of violating institutional rule(s), 
the DHO may apply any or all of the sanctions from the penalty class of the 
most serious rule violated. Additional sanctions may be applied from the 
penalty class corresponding to the additional rule(s) violated.  
 
Note:  Loss of all earned good time is allowable for offenses listed that 
include the statement “may result in loss of all good time.” 
 
*In addition to any other punishment authorized under this AD, the use of 
any commissary item in connection with the violation of any of these rules 
may result in the loss of the privilege to acquire that type of item for up to 
twelve (12) months 

c. Loss of designed privileges up to forty-five (45) days. 

d. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, 
intentionally misplaced or destroyed property. 

e. Extra duty up to two (2) hours per day for up to fifteen (15) days. 

f. Formal reprimand and/or warning. 

g. Reduction of up to two (2) steps in class. 

a. Punitive Isolation up to ten (10) days. Inmates serving a punitive 
disciplinary sentence shall not earn meritorious good time. 

b. Loss of earned credits up to sixty (60) days. 

c. Loss of designated privileges up to thirty (30) days. 

d. Restitution based on replacement cost or the value of lost, 
intentionally misplaced or destroyed property. 

e. Extra duty up to two(2) hours per day for up to ten (10) days. 

f. Formal reprimand/warning. 

g. Reduction of one (1) step in class. 
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Inmates who violate the following rules may be placed on non-contact 
visitation and restricted from video visitation for one (1) year for each 
offense. Any subsequent disciplinary for another violation following the 
initial violation will cause the one (1) year restriction period to start over 
from the date of conviction of the new violation. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
All inmates assigned to Restrictive Housing will remain a Class IV 
inmate and will not receive any good time for the duration of their 
confinement in Restrictive Housing. 
 
 
Any felony is subject to criminal prosecution regardless of 
disciplinary action within the Arkansas Division of Correction. 
 
 

 
  

 

 

 

 

a. Under the influence of and/or use of an illegal drug, alcohol, 
intoxicating chemical or any medication in an unauthorized manner. 

b. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing. 

c. Possession or introduction of any drug, narcotic, intoxicating 
chemical, or drug paraphernalia not prescribed by medical staff. 

d. Possession or movement of currency, unless specifically authorized. 

e. Possession of clothing or property not issued or authorized by the 
Center/Unit. 

f. Correspondence/conduct with a visitor in violation of regulations. 

g. Possession/introduction/use of a cell phone or unauthorized 
messaging device. 

h. Possession/introduction/use of unauthorized electronic devices or 
parts of one, such as a charger or sim card. 

i. Indecent Exposure. 

j. Social media. 
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Restrictive Housing 
It is the policy of the ADC to provide secure, safe housing to inmates 
who require a higher degree of physical control or who staff otherwise 
find necessary to remove from the general population of the facility. The 
policy is to limit the use of Restrictive Housing to the shortest period of 
time possible while maintaining a safe environment within the 
institutions.  
 
Definitions 
Administrative Status - separation from the general population by the 
classification committee or shift supervisor when the continued presence 
of the inmate in the general population poses a direct threat to the safety 
of persons or a clear threat to the safe and secure operations of the 
facility. Inmates pending investigation by the unit or law enforcement, 
pending trial on a criminal act, pending disciplinary court review, or 
pending transfer. While this status may be in restrictive housing, it is a 
temporary status, and a release plan is not required while in this status. 
 
Restrictive Housing (RH) - placement that requires an inmate to be 
confined to a cell at least twenty-two (22) hours per day. 
 
Extended Restrictive Housing - placement in housing that separates the 
inmate from contact with general population while  restricting an inmate 
to his/her cell for twenty-two (22) hours per day for thirty (30) days or 
longer for the safe and secure operation of the facility. A 48-hour relief 
does not end Extended Restrictive Housing because the inmate is not 
returned to general population during this time. 
 
Restrictive Recreation - a status assignment allowing the Classification 
or Warden/Center Supervisor to assign an inmate to be kept in full 
restraints during the inmate’s scheduled recreation period if his/her 
actions pose a threat to the safety of persons or a clear threat to the safe 
and secure operations of the facility. These actions include but are not 
limited to tapering with, or blocking, any lock or locking device; 
tampering or manipulating any recreation enclosure or RH recreation 
area; running from, avoiding, or otherwise resisting apprehension; 
aggravated battery to include attempted battery or battery on staff or 
inmates; and attempts to remove or manipulate restraints. 
 
Step-Down Program - a system of review that establishes criteria to 
prepare an inmate for transition from restrictive housing to general 
population or the community. A classification committee made up of a 
multidisciplinary team (medical, mental health, security, and others 
determined by the Warden) will determine which individual inmates 
enter the program. 
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Protective Custody - form of separation from the general population for 
inmates requesting or requiring protection from other inmates for 
reasons of health or safety. The classification committee reviews the 
inmate’s status periodically. Inmates assigned to Protective Custody are 
not assigned to restrictive housing due to this status alone. 
 
Disciplinary Court Review (DCR) - the confinement of an inmate in 
restrictive housing until a disciplinary hearing is completed due to an 
alleged disciplinary infraction. 
 
Release Plan - the steps the inmate needs to take to be released to 
general population which may include one or more of the following: a 
certain number of disciplinary free days, completion of disciplinary 
sanctions, completion of anger management, thinking errors, and/or 
stepdown program. 
 
Reentry Plan - a pre-release assessment and plan that includes at a 
minimum,  a review of parole stipulations and program referrals, 
transportation to the inmate’s closest commercial pick-up point, 
information on community services available in the area, and 
information on how to reinstate voting rights upon discharge of their 
sentence.  
 
Inmates in restrictive housing may be subject to more stringent living 
conditions and their privileges may be restricted. 
 
The calculation and scheduling of an inmate’s RH hearing will not 
change if that inmate transfers to another unit and remains in RH. 
 
Medical Services 
 
Health Services 
It is the policy of the ADC to provide health care services (medical, 
dental, and mental health) accessible to all inmates, which, at a 
minimum, meet reasonable and necessary health care needs. If you have 
a medical or dental emergency, inform a correctional officer who will 
notify the medical department immediately for evaluation. If the 
problem is not an emergency, then a Health Services Sick Call request 
form must be submitted, which will be reviewed by the medical 
department within 24 hours, and an examination will be scheduled. 
 
ADC charges inmates a $3.00 co-pay fee for any inmate initiated request 
for medical or dental services. A $3.00 fee is also charged for inmate-
initiated request for health care services unrelated to a condition being 
followed in chronic care clinic; initial contact with health care services 
due to fights, sports injuries or self-inflicted injuries not associated with  
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mental illness; a pre-lockup examination required because the inmate 
was involved in a fight or altercation with another inmate(s) or staff, 
including where chemical spray is used due to an inmate’s refusal to 
submit to restraints for movement. No fee is charged for diagnosis and 
treatment of communicable disease; chronic care or other staff-initiated 
care, including follow-up and referral visits. When an inmate who has a 
co-pay lien receives funds, those funds may be used to satisfy the co-pay 
lien. Christmas funds, gate money, aid to indigent inmates, or other such 
funds provided by the state will not be taken to satisfy co-pay liens. All 
co-pay liens or charges will be deducted before commissary charges are 
allowed when the balance of an inmate’s trust fund account rises above 
the safeguarded account balance of $5.00. Out-of-state inmates housed 
in ADC facilities will be subject to the same co-pay guidelines as an 
Arkansas inmate; however, these inmates will not be charged for 
services required by Interstate Corrections Compact guidelines. No 
inmate will be denied necessary health care serves because of inability to 
pay. 
 
See the Co-Pay policy for more details. 
 
Pregnant Inmates 
Female inmates will have access to pregnancy management services. 
 
Dental Services 
In addition to dental emergencies and routine and necessary 
examinations, treatment and cleanings are available. Dental prosthetics 
are provided if required for chewing food but will not be provided for 
cosmetic effect. 
 
Eye Examinations 
If you are having vision difficulty, submit a request for an examination 
to the medical department. If appropriate and needed, an Optometrist 
will examine your eyes, and standard glasses will be provided if needed. 
You may be re-examined as provided in policy. 
 
Program Services 
The ADC has various programs available to you while you are 
incarcerated. These include educational, vocational, work, counseling, 
etc. Inmates who would like to participate in any program should 
complete an inmate request form to the Program Coordinator and send 
the request via truck mail to that Program Coordinator. Keep in mind 
that different programs have different criteria and not every program is 
open to every inmate or available in every facility.  
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Mental Health 
Inmates can receive individual and group outpatient treatment from 
psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers and counselors. 
 
It is important that inmates have access to mental health services 
governed by policies that adheres to the expected professional levels of 
confidentiality to the extent possible in a prison setting. 
 
Inmates requests for mental health services may be made by submitting 
a request for interview in the sick call mental health request box or in 
the manner that requests are handled in the inmate’s housing area. 
 
Residential Programs Unit (RPU) 
The Residential Programs Unit is for inmates with serious mental or 
emotional problems that require residential treatment as recommended 
by the unit’s mental health staff. The RPU provides intensive treatment 
and specialized assessment. 
 
Habilitation Program 
The Habilitation Program provides special management and treatment 
for developmentally disabled inmates. 
 
Substance Abuse Treatment Programs  
It is the policy of the ADC to assess the propensity for alcohol and drug 
use of all inmates entering the ADC and to make available, to the 
maximum extent possible, effective treatment. Inmates will be assessed 
for alcohol and drug use problems during the intake process of their 
incarceration. The mental health intake assessment will include an 
interview reviewing substance use related crimes, social histories 
revealing substance use, and previous treatments, which may indicate 
propensities for substance use. Following this, intake recommendations 
for substance use treatment will be made if indicated, and inmates will 
be informed of any substance use treatment referrals. Substance use 
treatment is a voluntary service, and inmates who are stipulated by the 
Board of Parole to participate in drug treatment can refuse the services 
of this program by signing a Substance Use Rehabilitation Services 
(SURS) Refusal Form. Inmates refusing substance use treatment shall 
be informed that such refusal may affect their date of release. Inmates 
who have refused substance use treatment may, at a later date, request 
these services in writing. 
 
The ADC also provides residential substance abuse treatment. There 
are two programs: Substance Abuse Treatment and Therapeutic 
Community Program (SATP and TC ) for inmates with substance 
abuse histories. 
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 Sex Offenders Treatment 
The Reduction of Sexual Victimization Program (RSVP) is a treatment 
program for male inmates and Sex Offender Treatment (SOFT) is the 
treatment program for female sex inmates. Both focus on controlling 
compulsive sexual behaviors. Participation in the program is 
voluntary, but the Parole Board can stipulate completion as a condition 
of early release. 
 
Anger Management 
The Restrictive Housing (RH) Anger Management Treatment Program 
is a 12-week program designed to enable inmates to manage their 
anger and have positive interactions with staff members as well as 
other inmates. The program utilizes the Aggression Replacement 
Training (ART) program as the main focus of treatment and Thinking 
for Change as a supplement. The program challenges inmates to 
recognize and change thinking and behavioral patterns that are affected 
by their anger.  
 
Think Legacy Program 
The ADC recognizes that the majority of inmates incarcerated will be 
released into the community either by discharging their sentence or on 
parole. In order to increase the potential for successful reintegration 
into the community, it is necessary that these inmates be provided 
certain programming and information . This program prepares inmates 
to reintegrate into the community. 
 
Act 309 Program 
Under the Act 309 Program, inmates who qualify may be assigned to 
county or city jail facilities. Inmates must be Class I or eligible for 
Class I, have served a minimum of 6 months since admission to a 
parent unit with the ADC, be disciplinary free for 90 days, and be 
capable of abiding by the rules and regulations of the programs as 
indicated by their institutional record. Inmates cannot have any 
indisposed felony detainer filed against him or her unless approved for 
transfer by the agency filing the detainer and you must be within 45 
months of your parole or transfer eligibility date. Any eligible inmate 
must exhibit a current medical classification commensurate with 
expected work assignment. Prior to participation in the Act 309 
Program, notification will be made to the sheriff of the county from 
which the inmate was tried and convicted, and the prosecuting 
attorney’s office who convicted the inmate. Victim or victim’s family 
notification shall be done by mail to the last known address supplied to 
the Division of Correction in accordance with ADC policies. Any 
inmates convicted of kidnapping, a second or a subsequent offense of 
aggravated robbery, or criminal attempt to commit these offenses, will 
not be eligible for Act 309-Work classification. These inmates will be 
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classified as Act 309-Jail only inmates. 
 
Work Release 
ADC policy allows the orderly reintegration of selected inmates from a 
prison environment back into communities through participation in a 
Community or Unit/Center Work/Study Release Program. In the Work 
Release Program, inmates are housed in correctional facilities and may 
be employed in the community after competing their assignment to 
Regional Maintenance. Inmates must be eligible for minimum security 
status, must have a parole eligibility release date within 42 months or 
shorter as determined by the Director, have had no major disciplinary 
infractions for a period of not less than 3 months immediately prior to 
application, must exhibit a current medical classification commensurate 
with expected work assignment, etc. Inmates having an undisposed 
felony detainer filed against him/her, inmates convicted of any sex 
offense, inmates convicted of a felony escape, inmates convicted of a 
capital offense, first degree murder, rape, kidnapping, or who have 
been convicted for a second or subsequent offense of aggravated 
robbery, or who are serving a life sentence, or who are under sentence 
to be executed, are not eligible to participate in this program. From the 
wages inmates earn, the inmate will partially reimburse the state for 
their care and custody. Inmates who have dependents must remit one-
third of their net income or the amount which may be required by court 
order. The inmate will normally be allowed to spend up to an amount 
equal to the approved weekly commissary draw. The remaining 
balance will be deposited in the inmate’s ADC account. Any 
disbursements out of this account must be approved by the Warden/
Center Supervisor. All fund balances of an inmate’s account will be 
released to the inmate upon parole or termination of sentence.  
 
Prison Industry Enhancement Certification Program (PIECP) 
A PIECP worker is an inmate who provides labor for a Bureau of 
Justice (BJA) Prison Industries Enhancement Certification Program 
(PIECP). An inmate who voluntarily agrees to participate in PIECP, 
provides labor and benefits by receiving an opportunity for training and 
work experience. Inmates must have 2 or more years left until release 
date, major disciplinary free for a period of 6 months prior to date of 
application, have a GED or be working toward a GED degree, have an 
immediate supervisor’s approval prior to application, have a good work 
record for at least 90 days prior to application, does not have an 
uncontrollable propensity for violence, does not constitute a security 
risk, is capable of abiding by the terms and conditions of the program, 
be approved to perform work as indicated by current medical 
classification and medical restrictions and other requirements as may 
be imposed at the correctional facility where the PIECP program is 
located. ADC retains an amount of the inmate’s earning for operational  
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fees. Earnings must also go into a savings account and any 
disbursements out of this account must be approved by the Warden. 
The inmates shall be required to give 5% of his/her gross income to the 
Arkansas Crime Victims Reparation Fund and10% of the inmate’s 
gross wages shall be sent to persons dependent upon the inmate for 
financial support where applicable.  
 
Paws in Prison 
The ADC Paws in Prison is a training program for companion and 
service dogs by partnering with rescue organizations and/or shelters. 
The primary goal of this program is to prepare the animal for adoption 
or service. The program provides a safe, clean and humane 
environment for the care, custody, training and control of dogs for the 
purpose of preparing these animals for adoption or service within the 
local community. Each inmate wishing to participate must understand 
and agree to the goals of this program. Inmates shall not have been 
convicted of animal cruelty or abuse. Inmates must volunteer to 
participate in this program. Eligibility requirements are based, in part, 
on interest, training, positive attitude, length of sentence, criminal 
history and a positive institutional behavior pattern/adjustment. Inmates 
must be mentally and physically fit to assist in the care and training of 
an animal. Inmates associated with this  program must comply with all 
ADC rules and regulations. Any inmate participating in this program 
who abuses an  animal will be issued a disciplinary and may face 
criminal prosecution. Any inmate participating in this program that 
encourages or attempts to instill in any dog aggressive or attack modes 
towards a person or animal will be removed immediately from the 
program, issued a disciplinary and the animal will be evaluated as soon 
as possible by a free-world trainer to determine whether it may 
continue in the program. 
 
Inmate Tablet Program 
The tablets allow incarcerated individuals the capability for educational 
and self-help opportunities, communicate with love ones, listen to 
music, read books, play games and search for jobs.   
 
Reentry Planning 
A reentry plan will be reviewed with you. It will include a review of 
any parole board stipulations, the status of your medical coverage 
(Medicare, Medicaid, Insurance), housing and employment plans, and 
whether you have a valid driver’s license or state identification card. 
You will be provided with a copy of your reentry plan, as well as 
copies of any program completions and certificates. You will also 
receive information regarding the reinstatement of your voting rights. If 
you are required to register as a sex offender, notification of your 
pending release will be sent to the Prosecuting Attorney pursuant to  
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Act 973 of 2015. 
 
Driver’s Licenses or State Identification Card 
Eligible inmates who are within one hundred eighty (180) days of 
release from custody of the ADC who have not previously been issued 
an Arkansas identification card or an Arkansas Driver’s License shall 
be issued an Arkansas Driver’s License if the driving privileges of the 
eligible inmate are not suspended or revoked; or suspended or revoked 
solely as a result of an outstanding Driver’s License reinstatement fee 
imposed under the laws of this state. If issued, any fees for a 
replacement identification card or issued driver’s license to an eligible 
inmate shall be waived. This is not applicable to a first time issuance of 
a driver’s license or identification card nor may it be used to waive any 
documentation requirements for non-United States citizens. This also 
does not apply to a person with an expired driver’s license. 
 
Suicide Prevention 
If you feel like hurting yourself, or you’re feeling very depressed, or 
you think you might commit suicide, ask to see Mental Health Services 
immediately. 
 
Right to Vote 
The Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 51, Section 11, (d)(2) provides 
that after a person with a felony conviction has discharged his sentence 
or been pardoned, he shall provide the county clerk with proof that all 
probation or parole fees and terms of imprisonment have been satisfied 
along with all court costs, fines, or restitution. Section (B) provides that 
upon proof, the felon shall be eligible to vote. 
 
Americans with Disabilities (ADA) 
ADC prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in the provision 
of services, programs and activities. If you are disabled, you may be 
entitled to reasonable accommodations. ADC will make every effort to 
ensure that staff communicate effectively with inmates who have a 
disability.  The ADC will provide reasonable accommodations by 
bridging the communication gap with staff and inmates who are deaf, 
hard-of-hearing, late deafened, or who have speech impediments.  
ADC also provides assistance to visually impaired and blind inmates 
with, for example, written materials in large print and/or Braille. 
 
Recreation 
Inmates will be allowed to participate in leisure time and recreational 
services in accordance with unit policies and procedures. 
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Education 
 
Academic 
Education for inmates is provided through the Arkansas Correctional 
School District. The Board of Corrections has made education 
mandatory for all inmates without a verifiable High School Diploma or 
General Education Development (GED) certificate. A full range of 
academic programs is available at most units, including special 
education, Title 1, and dyslexia testing and intervention for inmates 
who qualify. Summer school is provided at some units, and 
homebound educational services may be offered for inmates in 
restrictive housing. Inmates progress at their own pace and work 
toward their GED certificate. College courses are offered at some 
units. 
 
Career and Technical Education Programs 
Career and Technical Education Programs (CTE) enable inmates to 
enter the world of work with basic skills necessary to succeed in their 
chosen professions. CTE programs include: Barbering & Barber 
Instructor, Building and Grounds Maintenance, Computer 
Applications Technology, Computer Science – Coding & 
Cybersecurity, Computerized Accounting, Cosmetology & 
Cosmetology Instructor, Food Service, Heavy Equipment Operator, 
Horticulture, HVAC, Landscape Construction and Design, Plumbing, 
Residential Carpentry, Residential Electricity, and Welding. Most of 
the Arkansas Correctional School District Programs require a 
minimum of 600 hours and are usually completed in six to eight 
months. Barbering and Cosmetology requires 1,500 hours and takes 
approximately 15 months to complete. Short courses such as: Basic 
Residential Mechanics, Building Trades-Basics, Future Fit, Office 
Basics-Keyboarding, and Pet Care and Management, are available at 
some units. Short courses require 225 to 450 hours and generally take 
3 to 4 months to complete. Most CTE program participants have the 
opportunity to earn industry-recognized certificates such as: MSSC, 
NCCER Core, NCCER Craft, ServSafe Food Handler, and ServSafe 
Manager. Additionally, many other industry-recognized certificate 
courses are available using the iCEV platform. Certificate courses 
offered through iCEV require approximately 4 weeks to complete. 
 
Religious Services 
 
Religious Activities 
It is the policy of the ADC to provide incarcerated individuals the 
greatest amount of freedom and opportunity for pursuing individual 
religious beliefs and practices as is consistent with the safety of 
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inmates and staff, the good order of the institution and accepted 
correctional practices. All religious activities-worship services, 
meetings, counseling, visiting must comply with institution schedules 
and guidelines. 
 
Chaplains and volunteers provide religious services, pastoral 
counseling, study groups, revivals and other special events. 
 
Religious Medals 
One religious medal or emblem may be worn on an ID chain. A 
separate chain is not allowed. The religious medal or emblem cannot be 
larger than one and half inches in length or width and no thicker than 
1/8 of an inch. The medal/emblem must be received and approved 
through the chaplain’s office. Approved medals/emblems must be 
listed on your inventory/property list, and if not, you may be 
disciplined for possession of contraband. 
 
Mail Policy/Packages 
All of your incoming and outgoing mail may be read, except for 
privileged correspondence, which will be opened in your presence and 
inspected for contraband. Privilege correspondence includes letters 
from officers of federal, state and local courts, any federal or state 
official or agency, any administrator of the ADC, the parole board or 
its staff, the inmate’s attorney and any member of the news media. If 
properly marked as privileged correspondence, it will be opened in 
front of you and inspected for contraband. Mail opened and inspected 
under these circumstances will not be read or censored but may be 
rejected in its entirety if it is found to contain contraband. Please also 
note that upon delivery of any legal mail, staff will provide an 
acknowledgement of legal mail to the inmate, if the inmate refuses to 
sign the acknowledgement, another staff member will note “inmate 
refused to sign” on the Legal Mail Delivery Form and sign as a 
witness. 
 
The full name under which the inmate was committed, and the ADC 
number of the inmate shall be shown on the upper left-hand corner of 
the envelope on any outgoing mail and bottom right of incoming mail. 
Letters must be written in the English language unless there is approval 
from the Warden/Center Supervisor to communicate with family in 
another language. Inmates who wish to communicate with family in 
another language, must send a request to the Warden/Center Supervisor 
for review and consideration.   
 
The ADC does not accept postage due mail or packages. Postage 
payment must be made in advance. Since opened mail will not be 
returned to the sender by the Postal Service without additional postage, 
the inmate shall be responsible for the cost. 
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Types of Mail Allowed 
Your family, friends, officials and other significant community 
contacts can mail letters to you or send letters electronically with a 
minimum of interference consistent with the legitimate security needs 
of the facility. There will be no limitation placed on the number of 
letters mailed or received. However, each item of inbound 
correspondence is limited to three (3) pages which will be copied 
(black and white photocopy) along with the envelope so that two (2) 
sheets of paper, front and back, shall be provided for each items of 
general correspondence an inmate receives. No color photocopies will 
be made. Originals will be shredded after the copy has been made. No 
cards, larger-size paper or anything else will be manipulated to fit on 
the copy paper. Any general correspondence that exceeds these limits 
will be treated as contraband.  
 
Photos received from the crime lab that contain the following 
information to an inmate in the custody of the ADC shall be 
considered contraband per A.C.A. §12-12-312: 
 a.  Depicts a crime scene; 
 b.  Depicts the victim of a crime; or 
 c.  Was taken in conjunction with an autopsy. 
 
Electronic correspondence will be considered general correspondence 
only, however, the limit to three sheets and one side of an envelope 
will not apply. All incoming and outgoing electronic correspondence 
will be inspected and approved before distribution. The cost of 
electronic correspondence is at the expense of the sender. The cost of 
any rejected electronic correspondence will be borne by the sender. 
Rejected electronic correspondence will be rejected in its entirety. 
 
Interstate/Inter-Unit Correspondence 
Interstate and Inter-Unit correspondence is mail between all 
individuals who are incarcerated either within the ADC or another 
facility. Interstate and Inter-Unit correspondence of two (2) 
incarcerated individuals will be restricted to members of the immediate 
family. For the purpose of this provision VERIFIED immediate family 
is defined as the inmate’s father, mother, sister, brother, spouse, 
children, grandchildren, and any other person whose relationship with 
the inmate has been verified as that of a parent/guardian such as 
mother-in-law, father-in-law, grandparent, aunts, or uncles, or whose 
relationship with the inmate has been verified as that of a child/ward 
such as a foster child, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, niece, or nephew. 
This list of immediate family members includes stepfamily members 
and half siblings. It will be subject to the usual rules under general 
correspondence including the page limit for photocopying. Inter-Unit 
correspondence must have the approval of both the sending and  
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and receiving Warden/Center Supervisor. In the case of Interstate 
correspondence where the out-of-state facility does not take a position, 
only the Arkansas Warden/Center Supervisor must approve.  
 
If you have an authorized hobbycraft card, you may order and receive 
items approved by the Warden or a designee. No other packages are 
allowed except with the approval of the Warden and the appropriate 
Deputy Director. Packages that do not have prior approval will be 
returned to the sender. Packages will be searched. 
 
Violation of correspondence rules will be subject to disciplinary action. 
 
Publications 
Any books, magazines, newspapers or catalogs that you receive from 
the publisher, bookstore, educational institution or recognized 
commercial or charitable outlet will be rejected if it violates the 
publication policy. Payment must made in advance. All publications 
are subject to inspection and review and may be refused/denied/
rejected due to content. You will be advised of the reason if a 
publication is rejected.  
 
Publications which meet two (2) of the following conditions will be 
rejected: 
  a. Books that measure more than 9” x 11” 
 b. Hardback books thicker than two (2) inches 
 c. Softback books thicker than four (4) inches 
 d. Any books heavier than three (3) pounds 
 
If books or magazines are bundled together and the bundle is over 
the appropriate allowable size, the entire package will be rejected. 
Publications with objects inside, the publication will not be altered 
from the original state. Items within the publication/package cannot be 
separated, therefore the publications/package is rejected in its entirety. 
 
Publications recommended for rejection, will be referred to the 
Warden/Center Supervisor. The Warden/Center Supervisor must 
approve or reject the publication within thirty (30) days of receipt. If 
the publication is rejected, the inmate must be notified, in writing, of 
any decision to reject and the basis for rejection of the publication. The 
decision to reject a publication may be appealed to the Central Office 
Publication Review Committee. The appeal must be initiated within ten 
(10) days of the receipt of written notification of the Warden/Center 
Supervisor’s decision to reject the publication. Rejections of 
publications are not grievable.  
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Visitation 
It shall be the policy of the ADC to permit inmates to have visits with 
family, friends, attorneys and spiritual advisors under conditions that 
are consistent with the security and good order of departmental 
operations. Because of limited space, staff availability, scheduling 
considerations and security requirements of correctional units/centers 
limits must be set and controls established governing visits.  
 
Inmates will not be allowed visitors during their initial reception and 
orientation to the ADC commonly referred to as “intake”.  Inmates 
will be allowed to visit immediate family members for a period up to 
thirty (30) days after the inmate completes intake and is received at 
their initial unit of assignment until such time as a visitation list is 
established. The family relationship must be validated by inmate 
information on record. After the initial thirty (30) day period at the 
initial unit of assignment, only visitors on an inmate’s visitation list 
will be allowed to visit. Everyone who plans to visit must fill out a 
Visitation/Telephone Contact Request and Authorization Form. A 
criminal history check is done on all prospective visitors. Any 
incomplete application will be rejected and returned to the applicant 
for completion of mandatory information. It is the inmate’s 
responsibility to advise visitors of their approval/denials, scheduled 
visitation days and times, and changes in and visitation days.  
 
A maximum of twenty (20) persons may be placed on any inmate’s 
visitation list. Once this number is reached, the inmate cannot add 
another visitor without removing one from the existing list. Approved 
visitors may not be listed on more than one inmate’s visitation list 
unless the visitor is confirmed as an immediate family member of each 
inmate and approved by the Warden(s). 
 
All visitors twelve (12) years of age or older will be required to show a 
valid unexpired driver’s license or state issued photo identification. 
Adult escorts may vouch for the identity of minor visitors under the 
age of twelve (12) years. 
 
Current ADC employees and contract employees (working in an ADC 
facility), shall not be approved for visitation unless, prior to their 
employment, they were immediate family members of the inmate. 
Former ADC employees and former contract employees shall not be 
approved for visitation for a period of three (3) years from their last 
date of employment unless, prior to their employment, they were 
immediate family members of the inmate. Waivers of the three (3) 
year period for former employees, contractors, interns, or students may 
be granted by the Warden if the employee left in good standing and is 
an immediate family member and/or an attorney of record for the  
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inmate. Volunteers, including interns, with the ADC shall not be placed 
on any inmate’s visitation list unless they are immediate family 
members and were so related to the inmate prior to their work as a 
volunteer or the inmate’s incarceration.  
 
Visitation Schedule, Rules, Restrictions, and Conditions 
Saturdays and Sundays will be designated visitation days for all routine 
visits. There will be no visitation on holidays unless the holiday falls on  
a regular visitation day. Each unit will have a schedule for visitation 
and you must notify your visitor(s). All Class I inmates will be 
permitted weekly Sundays visits. All Class II, III and IV inmates will 
be permitted two (2) visits a month, either the first and third Saturday 
of the month or the second and fourth Saturday of the month as 
determined by the Unit’s schedule. No more than four (4) persons shall 
be permitted to visit an inmate during any one (1) visitation period. A 
person of any age is counted as one (1) of the four (4) except minor 
children of the inmate allowed to visit may exceed the limit of four(4) 
visitors; however, only two (2) approved adult visitors may accompany 
the minor children when the limit of four (4) is exceeded. The Warden 
must authorize any other exception. 
 
Non-Contact Visitation 
Non-contact visitation is where a glass divider separates the inmate and 
visitor. The Warden/Center Supervisor has the authority to restrict 
contact visitation consistent with unit policy and the security needs of 
the Unit/Center. Where space for non-contact visits is limited, the 
duration of these visits may be reduced to two (2) hours with the 
approval of the Director. Non-contact is the only form of visitation 
allowed for inmates assigned to the Varner Supermax Program. 
Inmates who violate the following rules may be placed on non-contact 
visitation for one (1) year for each offense. This will include all visitors 
on the inmate’s visitation list. 

a. Under the influence of an/or use of an illegal drug, alcohol, 

intoxicating chemical or any medication in an unauthorized manner. 

b. Refusal to submit to substance abuse testing. 

c. Possession/introduction of any drug, narcotic, intoxicating chemical, 

or drug paraphernalia not prescribed by medical staff. 

d. Possession or movement of money or currency, unless specifically 

authorized. 

e. Possession of clothing or property not issued or authorized by the 

Center/Unit. 

f. Correspondence/conduct with a visitor in violation of regulations. 



43 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Special Status/Assignment 
Inmates on special status/assignment (such as Restrictive Housing, 
Investigative Status and Mental Health) may be allowed to receive a 
visit, consistent with “good security”, as designated by the Warden/
Center Supervisor or Deputy Warden. Death Row visits are held in 
accordance with the appropriate Administrative Directive. 
 
Visitation on Restrictive Housing 
Inmates on punitive housing or on punitive restrictions may be 
allowed visitation privileges unless there are substantial reasons for 
withholding such privileges. The Warden or designee must approve all 
such visits and will consider, among other factors, the following: 
 a. Nature of rule violation 
 b. No further rule violations while housed on punitive status or on 
  punitive restriction 
 c. Satisfactory cell inspection reports 
 
Inmates in  punitive are not eligible for in-person news media 
interviews. 
 
Special Visits 
Visits between a licensed attorney representing the inmate or having 
obtained a subpoena or court order for a visit, spiritual advisors, 
ministers of record and the inmate will be permitted Monday through 
Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. upon prior 
arrangements (a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours in advance 
whenever possible) with the Warden/Center Supervisor/designee.  
 
News media with respect to requests for interviews with inmates, it 
will be necessary for the representative of the news organization to 
first contact the inmate to obtain the inmate’s permission to be 
interviewed. The inmate may wish to consult with his/her attorney of 
record before agreeing to be interviewed and/or photographed. Before 
being interviewed or photographed, the inmate must sign an Inmate 
Consent Form which should be witnessed by an ADC staff member. 
Prior to granting approval for interviews with inmates, the Director 
and Public Information Officer will have to take into  

g. Possession/introduction/use of a cell phone or unauthorized messaging 

device. 

h. Possession/introduction/use of unauthorized electronic devices or parts 

of one, such as a charger or sim card. 

i. Indecent exposure. 

j. Social media. 
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consideration the effect such an interview may have on the inmate, and 
his/her personal mental attitude, the effect it may have on other inmates 
and institutional operations, the effect it may have on any victims, and 
the effect of an interview with respect to any pending review of 
clemency applications or litigation involving the inmate. All interviews 
must be approved by the Director and the interview may be approved 
with or without cameras, at the Director’s discretion. Any news media 
visit can be denied, canceled or restricted by the Director, Public 
Information Officer or Warden if there are security concerns based on 
present circumstances or concerns regarding subject matter. 
 
Visits Other Than on Regular Visitation Day 
If the Warden approves, visits may be granted any two (2) days to 
approved visitors whose residence is more than three hundred (300) 
miles from the unit/center. These are not extra visits and will count 
toward the inmate’s allowed number of monthly visits. The visitor must 
request the visit twenty-four (24) hours in advance during regular 
business hours.  
 
Consistent with the provisions of Arkansas Code Annotated §9-27-303 
as amended by Act 993 of 2017, the ADC will support the efforts of the 
Department of Human Services - Division of Children and Family 
Services (DHS-DCFS) to “reunify a family after a child is placed out of 
his or her home” by facilitating a special visit between incarcerated 
parents, their minor child(ren) involved in an active DHS-DCFS case, 
and DHS-DCFS staff. However, the Warden/Center Supervisor may 
deny admission to a visitor or, limit the number of visitors, based upon 
security considerations or staffing limitations. A request for this special 
visitation shall be submitted in writing to the Warden/Center 
Supervisor a minimum of five (5) business days in advance of the 
requested special visitation. The request must include a completed 
visitation form for each person requesting to participate in the 
visitation. 
 
Video Visitation 
Video visitation is also available at some facilities. Visitors must be 
listed on the inmate’s approved phone or visitor list. Attorneys may not 
use the ADC video visitation system. Visitors must schedule all 
appointments 48 hours prior to start time. Visits are 30 minutes in 
length and will begin promptly at the start time. All visitation rules 
apply, including dress code. Visits are monitored by division staff. 
Officers can terminate an active visit at any time. Violation of any 
visitation rules, including displaying sexual acts or other prohibited 
behavior on video visitation will result in cancellation of all visitation 
privileges. The recording or photographing of a video visit is  
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prohibited. Individuals found to be in violation of this policy, will have 
their visitation privileges suspended for a minimum of one (1) year 
from the date the ADC becomes aware of the first violation. A 
subsequent violation will result in the permanent loss of the visitation 
privileges of the violator. 
 
The cost of a video visit is $12.99 for 30 minutes. Visitors can contact 
Securus Customer Service at 877-578-3658 for technical assistance 
and billing questions. Please check with your Unit Visitation Clerk for 
availability and scheduling.  
 
Any behavior on the part of the inmate or visitor that is or may be 
disruptive to the security and good order of ADC operations or violates 
ADC rules will result in denial of or termination of the visit. Visitation 
is a privilege and visitation privileges will be denied should the ADC 
determine a visitor or inmate has attempted to violate ADC rules or 
regulations. Visitors’ clothing must be appropriate for the age and 
occasion. Any visitor who is removed from an inmate’s visitation list, 
regardless of why the removal occurred, shall wait a minimum of six 
months before being eligible to be placed on any inmate’s visitation 
list. Any visitor found to have knowingly introduced, or attempted to 
introduce, contraband or who refuses to comply with a search 
requested by staff may be removed from the inmate’s visitation list for 
a minimum of one (1) year. The visitor must reapply for visitation 
privileges for any inmate through the application process. Any visitor 
who refuses to comply with searches as requested by staff shall be 
removed from the inmate’s visitation list as refusal will be considered 
an attempt to introduce contraband. The visitor will also be removed 
from the inmate’s telephone list. Any visitor found to have knowingly 
introduced, or attempted to introduce, drugs, cell phones, weapons, 
implements of escape, tobacco products, or any other items that 
threaten the security and good order of the institution may be 
permanently prohibited from visiting at any ADC location.  
 
Family, friends, attorneys and spiritual advisors can always check the 
DOC website for more information and visitation updates. 
 
Furloughs 
 
Emergency Furloughs 
A temporary release, subject to appropriate supervision, may be 
granted of an inmate due to the critical illness and/or death of an 
immediate family member on the inmate’s approved visitation list. 
However, per ADC policy, the immediate family member must be on 
the inmate’s approved visitation list under Relatives/Associates. In all 
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cases, before approving an emergency furlough, the unit Warden/
Center Supervisor or designee shall be satisfied that the inmate to 
whom an emergency furlough is granted: 

  
  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Other procedural requirements are duly noted in the appropriate 
Administrative Directive. 
 
Meritorious Furlough 
A meritorious furlough may be granted if you have maintained a status 
of Class I-A or I-B for one year, have not been sentenced to death or 
life without parole along with other criteria. The entire “Meritorious 
Furlough Review Committee” must approve all meritorious furloughs. 
 
Under state law, meritorious furloughs cannot be granted to inmates 
sentenced for capital murder, murder in the first degree, kidnapping, 
stalking, rape, any other offense concerning sexual offenses, any 
offense concerning sexual exploitation of children or any offense 
concerning use of children in sexual performance.  
 
Once the inmate initially becomes eligible for a meritorious furlough, 
the sheriff and prosecuting attorney from the sentencing county shall be 
notified that the inmate will be eligible for a meritorious furlough once 
every six months. In addition, a request shall be made to the sheriff and 
prosecuting attorney of the sentencing county concerning any 
comments they may have in reference to the inmate’s furlough 
eligibility. The sheriff in the county and the chief of police in the city 
where the inmate wishes to visit must be notified prior to the inmate’s 
release on furlough on the Law Enforcement Notification Form. Upon 
request of an inmate’s victim, the ADC shall inform the victim at least 
thirty (30) days before release of the inmate on furlough.  
 
Other procedural requirements are duly noted in the appropriate ADC 
policies. 
 
Work Release Furloughs 
Work Release furloughs may be granted for one weekend a month to 
inmates participating in a Work Release Program. 

(1) Does not presently have an abnormal, uncontrollable 

propensity for violence; 

(2) Does not constitute a security risk; 

(3) Is capable of abiding by the terms and conditions of a 

furlough; and  

(4) Will not be endangered or endanger another person during 

such release. 
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Act 309 Furloughs 
If approved, Act 309 furloughs are to be taken on the weekend, not to 
exceed 48 hours and no more often than every 90 days. 
 
No furlough will be granted during a holiday weekend. 
 
Commissary 
Each unit has a commissary or some way to purchase items that are not 
normally provided by the ADC. The Board of Corrections sets the 
weekly limit of money allowed to be spent. A list of available items 
and purchase prices is provided at each commissary. Availability and 
price are subject to change without prior notice due to the vendor.  
Your ID is required to receive commissary. The last business day of 
each month, the commissary is closed for inventory, so there may be 
changes made to store days. 
 
Indigent Program 
 Criteria is as follows: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Eligible inmates may request any items from the approved list every 
30 days not to exceed value of $12.00. At the Warden’s discretion, 
some items may be prohibited in lockdown areas for security purposes 
(.e.g, emery boards, dental floss, etc.). Requests will be filled on the 
last day of the month. 
 
The system will not let you have an item before the allotted time 
frame, not even one day early. The system cannot be backdated for 
unavailable items. Items will be issued to eligible inmates in the same 
manner as the unit’s procedure for commissary. Eligible indigent 
inmates will shop on routine schedules with non-indigent inmates. 
 
Indigent commissary lists will be filled according to availability and in 
the order they are received. Any outside money that the inmate 
received while in the indigent program can go to pay for filing fees,  

1. Beginning date of eligibility determination shall be the date the 

inmate is received  by the ADC. 

2. An inmate shall be eligible for the program if their inmate trust fund 

banking account balance is less than $10.00 and the inmate has 

received less than $10.00 on their account during the immediate 

preceding thirty (30) days. 

3. If the inmate has an account balance less than $10.00 and has 

received less than $10.00 during the immediate preceding thirty (30) 

days, issues of indigent items shall be reduced by value of the 

account balance. 
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legal postage or any outstanding costs.    
 
Money 
 
Inmate Accounts 
Upon entering the ADC, an account will be set up for you to allow 
deposits of money while you are incarcerated. Your account will be 
charged for all purchases made through the commissary. 
 
You cannot receive cash. Only money orders and government checks 
will be posted to your account. 
 
Money orders should be made payable to the inmate’s name and ADC 
number. A “Money Order Deposit Slip” must be completed and sent 
with each money order. Deposit slips are available online at the ADC 
Website:  www.arkansas.gov/doc.  Inmates also have access to the 
deposit slips at each unit and can mail them to family members. All 
money must be sent directly to Inmate Banking: 
 Arkansas Department of Corrections 
 Trust Fund Centralized Banking 
 P. O. Box 8908 
 Pine Bluff, AR  71611 
 
Family and friends can also send money through the ADC Website or 
by phone at 1-866-250-7697. These methods require a credit card and 
involve a small processing fee. 
 
You cannot ask your family to put money on another inmate’s account. 
Also, gambling, lending and borrowing of any kind is prohibited. 
Trafficking and Trading is a rule violation and circumventing rules by 
having money put on another’s account will result in disciplinary 
action and suspension of visitation and phone privileges.  
 
Disbursements 
Instructions on how to make disbursements from your inmate account 
are available from your unit’s business manager, commissary manager 
or bookkeeper.  
 
Gate Money 
The ADC provides most inmates with money (debit card) when they 
are released from ADC custody. The money is not provided to inmates 
being released to a detainer or to Work Release inmates unless the  
Director makes an exception. A portion of each debit card is retained 
until conditions of release are verified, and may be used for a drivers 
license.  
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Marriage 
Inmate marriage requests are submitted to the unit Chaplain, who will 
schedule an interview so the necessary paperwork can begin. There is 
a 90-day waiting period that starts on the day of the inmate’s interview  
with the Chaplain. The request is sent from the Chaplain to the Warden   
for approval. If the Warden approves the marriage request, a date is set 
for the ceremony. You must be Class I to submit a marriage request. 
The Chaplain should conduct a pre-marital counseling meeting with 
both the inmate and the intended spouse. The marriage ceremony shall 
be supervised by the Unit/Senior Chaplain. The ceremony may not be 
performed by a state paid chaplain or anyone with a current ADC 
volunteer badge, but may be performed by anyone authorized by law 
to conduct marriages. Verification of the official’s credentials may be 
required. The ADC security regulations concerning photographs and 
authorized items shall apply to marriage ceremony participants. The 
inmate will wear clean pressed whites for the marriage ceremony. 
Fiancéeée and visitors’ dress must be appropriate for the occasion.  
 
You, your family, friends or another private source must pay all 
financial obligations of the wedding, including transportation costs. Up 
to six guests may attend the ceremony. Their names must be provided  
in advance to the Warden, and all guests must be on your approved 
visitation list. No reception or visitation will be permitted following 
the ceremony.  
 
Proxy marriages are prohibited. 
 
Law Library 
All units, except Work Release Centers, have a law library that is open 
during set hours. The Compliance Office makes sure information 
available at unit law libraries are kept up-to-date.  
 
Inmate Groups 
 
Inmate Councils 
Some ADC units have an Inmate Council for inmates. If you are 
interested, information is available at your unit.  
 
Inmate Panels 
An inmate panel is a select group of inmates who appear before school 
groups, civic clubs and other organizations to discuss problems of 
crime and delinquency. Only inmates with outstanding institutional 
records will be considered for participation.  
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Alcoholics Anonymous/Narcotics Anonymous 
At many units, community volunteers hold weekly meetings with 
inmates who indicate they have alcohol or drug problems. 
 
Parole/Transfer and Pardons 
 
Parole/Transfer 
Parole or transfer is early release from incarceration, and it is 
supervised and conditional. Since parole is a privilege and not a right, it 
may carry several conditions. An inmate can be required by the Parole 
Board to complete certain ADC programming such as Substance Abuse 
Treatment, Academic Education, Vocational Education, and Reduction 
of Sexual Victimization Program or the Sex Offender Female 
Treatment Program before being released on parole. Because programs 
have waiting lists, you should request a program and not wait to be 
stipulated or you can delay your release.  
 
If the conditions of release are not met or if you fail to follow the 
reporting schedule, parole can be revoked and you can be sent back to 
prison. 
 
Parole Eligibility/Transfer Eligibility Dates 
The records offices of the various units compute parole eligibility or 
transfer eligibility dates. All inmates, except those sentenced to life, life 
without parole, death or certain repeat offenders, can be eligible for 
parole/transfer at some point. Eligibility dates will depend on state laws 
concerning the crime, the sentence and good time. The eligibility date 
can change because of disciplinary action or additional convictions. 
 
Supervision of Parolees 
The Division of Correction does not supervise parolees. Supervision of 
parolees is provided by the Division of Community Correction. 
 
Pardons & Commutations 
Pardons and Commutations are granted by the Governor and are used 
to restore rights that may have been lost because of a criminal 
conviction. An application for pardon can be obtained from an 
Institutional Release Officer (IRO). 
 
Executive Clemency 
A commutation (time cut) is not a right but a discretionary duty of the 
Governor that can be denied any for reason. You may also apply to the 
Governor for a commutation, which can reduce the length of your 
sentence. Eligibility criteria for the various forms of executive 
clemency are listed on the application that you may request from your 
Unit IRO. Once an application is submitted for screening and/or  
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consideration, the process cannot be interrupted. The following are 
examples of grounds upon which an application may be filed:  (1) to 
correct an injustice which may have occurred during the trial; (2) life 
threatening medical condition which does not qualify for Act 290; (3) 
to adjust what may be considered an excessive sentence; (4) the 
person’s institutional adjustment has been exemplary and the ends of 
justice have been achieved. Incorrect information will be grounds for 
denial. You must answer all questions or your application will be 
returned. Attach additional pages if necessary to answer questions. 
Type or print your application using blue or black ink pen. An 
applicant for commutation (time cut) should understand that the 
process will take several months, even a year or more in some 
instances. The Parole Board must review all applications. After the 
Parole Board makes the review and recommendation, you will be 
notified. The Governor relies on the recommendation of the Parole 
Board and will not review any application, which has not been first 
reviewed by the Parole Board. The Governor does not review files 
taken out of order. There is no appeal process for commutation (time 
cuts). If the Governor denies the application, that decision is final.  
 
Emergency Powers Act (EPA) 
The Emergency Powers Act gives the Board of Corrections the 
authority to declare a prison-overcrowding emergency and to move 
parole/transfer eligibility dates forward by up to 90 days for eligible 
inmates. Even if the EPA is in effect, the Parole Board must still 
approve inmates for parole, and an approved parole plan must exist 
prior to release. 
 
Under the expanded version of the EPA, inmates convicted of a 
nonviolent offense (except for those sentenced under Act 1326), who 
are Class I or Class II, have been in the ADC system for at least six 
months, and do not have a violent disciplinary history may be eligible 
for release up to one year early. 
 
Legal Assistance 
There are licensed Arkansas Attorneys to assist with legal advice and 
explanations of court documents. The attorneys cannot represent 
inmates in lawsuits against ADC or its employees or on matters 
concerning criminal convictions. However, they can represent inmates 
in certain divorce and Department of Human Services matter. 
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Supermax 
 
All inmates transferred to the Varner Supermax Program will have a 
due process hearing. This hearing requires a 24-hour advance notice to 
the inmate. The sending unit may recommend that an inmate be 
transferred to the Supermax for any of the following: 
1. Escape from inside a secure facility 
2. Battery on staff with injury 
3. Battery on another inmate with serious injury 
4. Disciplinary conviction for a violent felony 
5. Other reasons that the Warden believes may constitute a serious  
 threat to the security and good order of the institution 
 
Transfer Appeals 
The committee’s decision to transfer an inmate to the Supermax 
Program may be appealed by the inmate to the Chief Deputy Director 
within fifteen (15) days after the inmate receives a copy of the decision. 
 
Recommendation for transfer should be submitted to the Classification 
Administrator for review and any discussion, if appropriate. 
 
Varner Supermax Program Rules 
The Varner Supermax has a separate handbook that is issued to inmates 
who are assigned to that program. 
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Notes 
 




