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Subtitle CONCERNING THE PENALTIES FOR THE OFFENSE OF STALKING.
Impact Summary! Minimal, affecting fewer than ten offenders per year.

Change from Current Law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-71-229, Stalking, to raise the felony class for
the offenses of stalking in the first degree and stalking in the second degree. The conduct provisions for Stalking are
unchanged by the proposed bill. [See attached for a complete reprint of A.C.A. § 5-71-229.] Currently, Stalking in
the first degree is a Class C felony. Under the proposed bill, Stalking in the first degree is a Class B felony. Currently,
Stalking in the second degree is a Class D felony. Under the proposed bill, Stalking in the second degree is a Class
C felony.

Impact Information The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) reports that for the three (3) year period
beginning on 1/1/2017 and ending on 12/31/2019, there were forty-two (42) convictions for a violation of A.C.A. §
5-71-229 (a)(3), Stalking in the first degree, a Class C felony. For the same three (3) year period, AOC reports that
there were fourteen (14) convictions for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-71-229 (b)(3), Stalking in the second degree, a
Class D felony.

The Division of Correction (ADC) reports that there are currently nine (9) offenders serving a term of incarceration
for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-71-229 (a)(3), Stalking in the first degree, a Class C felony. Five (5) of these offenders
are serving a term of incarceration for which A.C.A. § 5-71-229 (a)(3) is the most serious offense. The ADC also
reports that there are currently four (4) offenders serving a term of incarceration for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-71-229
(b)(3), Stalking in the second degree, a Class D felony. None of these offenders are serving a term of incarceration
for which A.C.A. § 5-71-229 (b)(3) is the most serious offense. Due to the small number of individuals serving a
term of incarceration for which A.C.A. § 5-71-229 (a)(3) or (b)(3) is the most serious offense, the impact of the
proposed bill is projected to be minimal.

! This impact assessment was prepared 3/29/2021 2:46 PM by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Corrections and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-simulation
model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following designations will be
used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs;
and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C  3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



A.C.A. § 5-71-229. Stalking.

(a)

(b)

(©)

(1) A person commits stalking in the first degree if he or she knowingly engages in a course of conduct that
would place a reasonable person in the victim's position under emotional distress and in fear for his or her
safety or a third person's safety, and the actor:

)

(A) Does so in contravention of an order of protection consistent with the Domestic Abuse Act of
1991, § 9-15-101 et seq., or a no contact order as set out in subdivision (a)(2)(A) of this section,
protecting the same victim, or any other order issued by any court protecting the same victim;
(B) Has been convicted within the previous ten (10) years of:
(1) Stalking in the second degree;
(i1) Terroristic threatening, § 5-13-301, or terroristic act, § 5-13-310; or
(iii) Stalking or threats against another person's safety under the statutory provisions of any
other state jurisdiction; or
(C) Is armed with a deadly weapon or represents by word or conduct that he or she is armed with a
deadly weapon.

(A) Upon pretrial release of the defendant, a judicial officer shall enter a no contact order in writing
consistent with Rules 9.3 and 9.4 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall give
notice to the defendant of penalties contained in Rule 9.5 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

(B) The no contact order remains in effect during the pendency of any appeal of a conviction under
this subsection.

(C) The judicial officer or prosecuting attorney shall provide a copy of the no contact order to the
victim and the arresting law enforcement agency without unnecessary delay.

(D) If the judicial officer has reason to believe that mental disease or defect of the defendant will or
has become an issue in the case, the judicial officer shall enter orders consistent with § 5-2-327 or §
5-2-328, or both.

(3) Stalking in the first degree is a Class C felony.

(1) A person commits stalking in the second degree if he or she knowingly engages in a course of conduct
that harasses another person and makes a terroristic threat with the purpose of placing that person in
imminent fear of death or serious bodily injury or placing that person in imminent fear of the death or
serious bodily injury of his or her immediate family.

)

(A) Upon pretrial release of the defendant, a judicial officer shall enter a no contact order in writing
consistent with Rules 9.3 and 9.4 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall give
notice to the defendant of penalties contained in Rule 9.5 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

(B) The no contact order remains in effect during the pendency of any appeal of a conviction under
this subsection.

(C) The judicial officer or prosecuting attorney shall provide a copy of the no contact order to the
victim and arresting law enforcement agency without unnecessary delay.

(D) If the judicial officer has reason to believe that mental disease or defect of the defendant will or
has become an issue in the case, the judicial officer shall enter orders consistent with § 5-2-327 or §
5-2-328, or both.

(3) Stalking in the second degree is a Class D felony.

(1) A person commits stalking in the third degree if he or she knowingly commits an act that would place a
reasonable person in the victim's position under emotional distress and in fear for his or her safety or a third
person's safety.



History

2

(A) Upon pretrial release of the defendant, a judicial officer shall enter a no contact order in writing
consistent with Rules 9.3 and 9.4 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal Procedure and shall give
notice to the defendant of penalties contained in Rule 9.5 of the Arkansas Rules of Criminal
Procedure.

(B) The no contact order remains in effect during the pendency of any appeal of a conviction under
this subsection.

(C) The judicial officer or prosecuting attorney shall provide a copy of the no contact order to the
victim and arresting law enforcement agency without unnecessary delay.

(D) If the judicial officer has reason to believe that mental disease or defect of the defendant will or
has become an issue in the case, the judicial officer shall enter orders consistent with § 5-2-327 or §
5-2-328, or both.

(3) Stalking in the third degree is a Class A misdemeanor.

(d) It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section if the actor is a law enforcement officer, licensed
private investigator, attorney, process server, licensed bail bondsman, or a store detective acting within the
reasonable scope of his or her duty while conducting surveillance on an official work assignment.

(e) It is not a defense to a prosecution under this section that the actor was not given actual notice by the victim that
the actor's conduct was not wanted.

(f) As used in this section:

(1

2)

(A) “Course of conduct” means a pattern of conduct composed of two (2) or more acts, separated
by at least thirty-six (36) hours, but occurring within one (1) year, including without limitation an
act in which the actor directly, indirectly, or through a third party by any action, method, device, or
means follows, monitors, observes, places under surveillance, threatens, or communicates to or
about a person or interferes with a person's property.
(B)
(i) “Course of conduct” does not include constitutionally protected activity.
(i1) If the defendant claims that he or she was engaged in a constitutionally protected
activity, the court shall determine the validity of that claim as a matter of law and, if found
valid, shall exclude that activity from evidence;

(A) “Emotional distress” means significant mental suffering or distress.
(B) “Emotional distress” does not require that the victim sought or received medical or other
professional treatment or counseling; and

(3) “Harasses” means an act of harassment as prohibited by § 5-71-208.

Acts 1993, No. 379, §§ 1-3; 1993, No. 388, §§ 1-3; 1995, No. 1302, § 1;2007, No. 827, § 94; 2013, No. 1014, §
152017, No. 472, §§ 22-24.



