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Subtitle CONCERNING THE OFFENSE OF FLEEING.

Impact Summary' Cannot be determined. The proposed bill increases the penalty for some occurrences of
Fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance from a misdemeanor to a felony. Because data on misdemeanor
convictions is not uniformly reported, the projected impact cannot be determined.

Change from Current Law? Amends Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-54-125, Fleeing, to increase the penalties
for fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance. Pursuant to A.C.A. § 5-54-125, if a person knows that his
or her immediate arrest or detention is being attempted by a duly authorized law enforcement officer, it is the
lawful duty of the person to refrain from fleeing, either on foot or by means of any vehicle or conveyance. Under
current law, fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance is either a Class A misdemeanor, a Class D felony,
or a Class C felony, depending on the circumstances of the offense. The proposed bill eliminates the Class A
misdemeanor and makes fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance a felony offense. [See attached for a
complete reprint of A.C.A. § 5-54-125.]

Impact Information The proposed bill increases the penalty for A.C.A. § 5-54-125 (d)(1), Fleeing by means of
any vehicle or conveyance from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class D felony. While the Administrative Office of
the Courts (AOC) does report on misdemeanor convictions, misdemeanors are often disposed of in District
Court. Not all district courts report data to the AOC. For this reason, the number of misdemeanor Fleeing
convictions is likely higher than reported. Therefore, the projected impact of the proposed bill cannot be
determined. The below data is provided for informational purposes only.

The AOC reports that for the three (3) year period beginning on January 1, 2017 and ending on December 31,
2019, there were 143 convictions for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-54-125 (d)(1), Fleeing by means of any vehicle or
conveyance, a Class A misdemeanor.

"' This impact assessment was prepared 3/17/2021 4:11 PM by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Corrections and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-simulation
model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following designations will be
used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs;
and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C  3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



A.C.A. § 5-54-125. Fleeing

(a) If a person knows that his or her immediate arrest or detention is being attempted by a duly authorized law
enforcement officer, it is the lawful duty of the person to refrain from fleeing, either on foot or by means of any
vehicle or conveyance.

(b) Fleeing is a separate offense and is not considered a lesser included offense or component offense with relation
to other offenses which may occur simultaneously with the fleeing.

(¢) Fleeing on foot is considered a Class C misdemeanor, except under the following conditions:

(d)

(1) If the defendant has been previously convicted of fleeing on foot anytime within the past one-year period,
a subsequent fleeing on foot offense is a Class B misdemeanor;

(2) If property damage occurs as a direct result of the fleeing on foot, the fleeing on foot offense is a Class A
misdemeanor; or

(3) If serious physical injury occurs to any person as a direct result of the fleeing on foot, the fleeing on foot
offense is a Class D felony.

(M
(A) Fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance is considered a Class A misdemeanor.

(B) A person convicted under subdivision (d)(1)(A) of this section shall serve a minimum of two (2)
days in jail.

(2) Fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance is considered a Class D felony if, under circumstances
manifesting extreme indifference to the value of human life, a person purposely operates the vehicle or
conveyance in such a manner that creates a substantial danger of death or serious physical injury to another
person.

(3) If serious physical injury to any person occurs as a direct result of fleeing by means of any vehicle or
conveyance, the fleeing by means of any vehicle or conveyance offense is a Class C felony.

(e) In addition to any other penalty, if the defendant is convicted of violating subsection (d) of this section, the court
shall instruct the Office of Driver Services of the Department of Finance and Administration to suspend or revoke
the defendant's driver's license for at least six (6) months but not more than one (1) year.

History

Acts 1977, No. 196, §§ 1, 2; A.S.A. 1947, §§ 41-2822, 41-2823; Acts 1993, No. 1217, § 1; 1995, No. 410, § 1;
2009, No. 1304, § 1;2017, No. 887, § 1.



