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Subtitle AN ACT TO INCREASE THE LOOKBACK PERIOD FOR PRIOR CONVICTIONS OF BOATING
OR DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED FOR THE PURPOSE OF SENTENCE ENHANCEMENT; AND FOR
OTHER PURPOSES.

Impact Summary? Cannot be determined. The proposed bill increases the lookback period for prior offenses
of boating or driving while intoxicated, which will increase the number of offenses which can be considered
subsequent offenses. Data does not exist as to the number of offenses that would be subject to an increased
penalty under the expanded lookback period. Therefore, the impact cannot be determined.

Change from Current Law? The proposed bill modifies Arkansas Code Annotated § 5-65-111, Periods of
Incarceration, to extend the lookback period for subsequent convictions for driving or boating while intoxicated.
The table below details the changes:

A.CA. Current Law | Proposed Bill
§ 5-65-111 (b)(1), second offense 5 years 10 years
8 5-65-111 (c)(1), third offense 5 years 10 years
§ 5-65-111 (d)(1), fourth offense 5 years 10 years
8 5-65-111 (e)(1), fifth offense 5 years 10 years
8 5-65-111 (f)(1), sixth or subsequent offense 10 years 20 years

Impact Information The proposed bill extends the lookback period used to qualify an offender for an
extended sentence for subsequent convictions for Driving or boating while intoxicated. Because data is not
collected regarding the number of convictions that have “fallen off” for convictions of Driving or boating while
intoxicated, the impact of this proposed bill cannot be determined. The increase in cases and incarcerated
offenders between a fifth offense and a sixth offense indicates increasing the lookback period would likely have
an impact on correctional resources, but the data to determine exactly how many more offenders would be
subjected to the increased penalties does not exist. The following data is for informational purposes only.

1 This impact assessment was prepared 1/25/2021 9:21 AM by the staff of the Arkansas Sentencing Commission pursuant to A. C. A. § 16-
90-802(d)(6) with data supplied by the Arkansas Department of Corrections and the Administrative Office of the Courts. A micro-simulation
model may be used for bills which have the potential for significant impact on correctional resources. The following designations will be
used: “minimal” = less than 10 offenders per year will be affected; “medium” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs;
and “major” = would require budgetary increases for ADC inmate costs and construction costs for additional beds.

2 Standard punishment ranges: Misdemeanors
Class Y 10-40 years or life Class C 3-10 years; up to $10,000 Class A Up to 1 year; up to $2,500
Class A 6-30 years; up to $15,000 Class D 0-6 years; up to $10,000 Class B Up to 90 days; up to $1,000

Class B 5-20 years; up to $15,000 Unclassified As specified in statute Class C  Up to 30 days; up to $500



The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) reports that for the three (3) year period beginning on January
1, 2017 and ending on December 31, 2019, there were:

e 1,757 misdemeanor convictions for A.C.A. § 5-65-111,

e 148 convictions for A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (d)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, fourth offense,
e 32 convictions for A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (e)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, fifth offense, and
e 59 convictions for A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (f)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, sixth offense.

It is important to note that misdemeanors are often disposed of in District Court, and that not all District courts
report data to the AOC. For this reason, the number of misdemeanor DWI or BWI convictions is likely higher
than reported.

The Arkansas Division of Correction (ADC) reports eleven (11) inmates currently serving a term of
incarceration for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (d)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, fourth offense,
as currently written. Two (2) of those inmates are serving a sentence for which A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (d)(1),
Driving or boating while intoxicated, fourth offense, is the most serious offense.

The ADC reports two (2) inmates currently serving a term of incarceration for a violation of A.C.A. 8 5-65-111
(e)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, fifth offense, as currently written. One (1) of those inmates is
serving a sentence for which A.C.A. 8 5-65-111 (e)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, fifth offense, is the
most serious offense.

The ADC reports ten (10) inmates currently serving a term of incarceration for a violation of A.C.A. § 5-65-111
(H(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, sixth offense, as currently written. Nine (9) of those inmates are
serving a sentence for which A.C.A. § 5-65-111 (f)(1), Driving or boating while intoxicated, sixth offense, is
the most serious offense.



