

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

1302 Pike Avenue, Suite C North Little Rock, Arkansas 72114 Phone: (501) 683-3309 | Fax: (501) 537-3958 DOC.ARKANSAS.GOV

Criminal Justice Task Force on Offender Court Costs and Collections Organizational Meeting DOC Headquarters June 22, 2021

Members Present

Senator Clarke Tucker Mr. Bob McMahan
Representative Robin Lundstrum Mr. Rick Stallings
Sheriff John Montgomery Ms. Kristin Clark
Circuit Clerk Debbie Wise Ms. Elizabeth Taylor
Judge Tommy Fowler Ms. Robin White
Mr. Benny Magness

Non-Members Present

Senator Missy Irvin
Mr. Solomon Graves (DOC Secretary)
Ms. Lindsay Wallace (DOC Chief of Staff)
Ms. Melissa Rangel (DOC Executive Assistant)
Mr. John Felts (BOC Alternate Task Force Member)

Mr. Jerry Bradshaw (Director, Division of Community Correction)
Ms. Cindy Murphy (DOC Communications Director)
Ms. Tawnie Rowell (Director, Sentencing Commission)

Members Absent

Ms. Lorie Mason Jordan Representative Keith Slape Senator Bob Ballinger Judge Hamilton Singleton

I. <u>Call to order</u> by Senator Clarke Tucker

Senator Tucker called the meeting to order and recognized a quorum was present.

II. <u>Welcome Remarks</u> by Department of Corrections Secretary Solomon Graves

III. <u>Introduction of Task Force Members and Department of Corrections Staff</u> [See attached appointment/contact list]

IV. Overview of Responsibilities and Presentation of Draft Rules and Procedures by Lindsay Wallace, DOC Chief of Staff

Ms. Lindsay Wallace reviewed the legislative obligations of the Task Force: 1) to study the methods used to collect, assess, and record fines, fees, restitution, and other financial obligations of persons in the criminal justice system and 2) to study the feasibility of notice to outside entities in the event that a person with financial obligations to a court wins a lottery prize, sells property, or is being released from parole or probation early. The task force is required to submit a report by October 31st, 2022 detailing any findings.

Ms. Wallace presented draft rules for governing task force meetings. Mr. Bob McMahan moved and Mr. Benny Magness seconded the motion to adopt the proposed rules, with one exception: In paragraph 3b, for purposes of placing items on meeting agendas, Mr. Magness proposed changing the date from seven (7) to five (5). Mr. McMahan amended his motion and Mr. Magness seconded the amended motion to adopt the proposed rules. The Task Force voted unanimously to adopt the rules as amended. Ms. Wallace pointed out that a mechanism is built into the rules for amendments, should the need arise.

V. Election of Task Force Leadership Senator Clarke Tucker

Senator Tucker moved to appoint Representative Robin Lundstrum as Chair of the Task Force. Rep. Lundstrum seconded the motion by agreeing to serve as Chair. The Task Force unanimously approved the motion.

Rep. Lundstrum moved forward with selecting other task force officers. Mr. Magness moved for Senator Tucker to be appointed as Vice-Chair. Senator Tucker seconded the motion that he serve as Vice Chair. The Task Force unanimously approved the motion.

Mr. Magness moved for Representative Keith Slape to be appointed as Secretary. Rep. Lundstrum seconded the motion. The Task Force unanimously approved the motion.

VI. Next Meeting Date

Rep. Lundstrum requested continuation of the previous method of date conflict determination be used for the next scheduled meeting date. Ms. Melissa Rangel will send date conflict forms to committee members in the upcoming weeks. The committee agreed that future meetings should be held during weeks in which Legislative Council meets, which typically occurs during the third week of every month.

VII. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 11:08 a.m.