Arkansas Escape Alert System

The Arkansas Escape Alert System allows citizens to register for automated notification in the event of an escape from a Department of Correction Unit or Department of Community Correction center.

If an offender escapes, once the escape is registered with the Alert System, an immediate notification will be issued to everyone registered against that facility.

Escape Notifications:

- Occur 24 hours a day 7 days a week
- · Arrive by automated phone message or e-mail
- Alert residents of the escape
- Direct recipient to appropriate Web site (ADC or DCC) for more information on the escapee

Recapture Notifications:

- · Occur between hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.
- · Alert on the recapture of escapee

There is no cost for the service and no limit to the number of facility registrations. Individuals can register up to three phone numbers and three e-mail addresses for notification.

Register by visiting www.alertxpress.com.

Arkansas Sex Offender Alert Service

The Arkansas Sex Offender Alert Service enables the public to:

- Search for a sex offender
- View location information on a map
- · Register for sex offender notifications
- View and print safety tips

To stay informed about sex offenders in your area, take advantage of our free e-mail and telephone alert service. This service will alert you when a sex offender address is registered within one mile of your subscription address. There is no cost to you and no limit to the number or type of addresses that can subscribed. Contact information is always kept confidential.

Register by visiting www.acic.org and click the link for the Sex Offender Registry or visit www.communitynotification.com/arkansas.

Victim Services

For further information about VINE, contact: Arkansas Crime Information Center

www.acic.org

1-501-682-2222 (central Arkansas)

1-800-482-5866 (outside central Arkansas)

Arkansas Department of Corrections
Victim Coordinator (Call to register to receive
offender notifications by mail)

www.adc.arkansas.gov/ 1-870-267-6677

Arkansas Coalition Against Domestic Violence

www.domesticpeace.com 1-800-269-4668

Center for Arkansas Legal Services

www.arlegalservices.org 1-800-950-5817

Crime Victims Reparations Board www.ag.arkansas.gov/crime victims.html

1-800-448-3014

Department of Human Services

www.arkansas.gov/ds/homepage.html 1-800-482-8988

Mothers Against Drunk Driving

1-800-228-7762

Parents of Murdered Children

www.pomc.org 1-877-233-0444

Family Service Agency

1-501-372-4242

National Domestic Violence Hotline

www.ndvh.org

1-800-799-7233

1-800-787-3224 (TTY)

National Organization for Victim Assistance

www.trynova.org

1-800-TRY-NOVA

VINE Information

Write down the following information and keep in a safe place:

Offender name

Offender/Booking number

ADC (Arkansas Dept. of Correction) number

PID (Parole/Probationer) number

Court case number

Your four-digit PIN

About the PIN

Your four-digit PIN is used by the VINE service to confirm that you received the proper notification. You should choose a number that is easy to remember and write it down on this pamphlet. When VINE calls, you will need to enter your PIN, followed by the # sign, to confirm that you received the message.

This service provides you with offender custody status and court information. Please take all necessary precautions to protect yourself. Should you have any questions regarding your protection, please call your local law enforcement agency.





the right to know.

1-800-510-0415

TTY 1-866-847-1298

www.vinelink.com



For offender information, contact the Arkansas VINE® service.

Provided by the

Arkansas Crime Information Center

In cooperation with:

Department of Correction, Your County Sheriff's Department, County Prosecuting Attorney's Office, and Local Law Enforcement Agencies



What is the Arkansas VINE® program?

VINE stands for Victim Information and Notification Everyday. The Arkansas VINE program is a free, automated service that provides crime victims with vital information about Arkansas criminal offenders & court events 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The service provides the following information:

- Custody status of offenders in Arkansas state prison system and county jail facilities.
- Information about offenders that have been placed on probation or parole.
- If an offender is in custody, VINE will provide the name, address and phone number of the custodial agency.
- If available, VINE will give you the parole eligibility date and sentence expiration date of state prison inmates.
- VINE can also provide court event information.

When you register with VINE, you will receive telephone and/or e-mail notification 24 hours a day, 365 days a year on changes in an offender's custody status, such as:

- · Transfers from one ADC facility to another
- Furloughs or out-to-court status
- Parole hearing dates
- Executive clemency consideration
- Release from ADC to parole or completion of sentence
- Escape or death while in ADC custody
- Status changes while on parole (requires re-registration after release)
- Upcoming court hearings



1-800-510-0415 www.vinelink.com

How do I use VINE?

VINE can be accessed online at www.vinelink.com or by phone at 800-510-0415.

You can locate an offender using basic information such as the offender's name, booking number, Arkansas Department of Correction (ADC) number, or Parolee/Probationer (PID) number. If you are searching for a particular court case, you will need the court case number.

How do I register with VINE?

After hearing offender or court case information, follow the instructions to register to receive notification. (Please note, if an offender is not in custody, you may not have the option to register).

You will need to provide:

- A telephone number (including area code) where VINE should call you with a
 notification. You can also register to receive notification by e-mail. (To register your
 e-mail address, either call the Arkansas VINE Service and press zero to speak with an
 operator or visit www.vinelink.com.)
- A four-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN).

You can register more than one telephone number and/or e-mail address. You can use the same PIN for each registration. E-mail notifications do not require a PIN.

Live operators are available by phone to provide information and to assist with registration. After calling the toll-free number, press zero "0" on your phone at anytime.

Hearing impaired can now register for notification by calling 866-447-1298 (TTY).

Important Facts

- DON'T FORGET: IF YOUR PHONE NUMBER OR E-MAIL CHANGES, IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to call VINE at 1-800-510-0415 or go on-line to VINELink.com and follow the instructions on how to change your phone or e-mail registration. Unless you make such changes, VINE will be unable to reach you when necessary.
- After you've registered for updates regarding a specific offender, VINE will call automatically if the offender's custody status changes.
- If you register to receive court case updates, VINE will notify you if there is an upcoming court event, if a court event has been cancelled, or if the case status changes.
- You can also register to receive updates on changes in the status of certain parolees or probationers.
- If you are not home, the service will leave a message on an answering machine. If there is no answer, the service will keep calling you back until you enter your PIN code or until 24 hours have passed.
- Since the service often calls automatically when an offender's custody status changes, you may get a call in the middle of the night.
- All registrations with the Arkansas VINE Program are anonymous.
- No one can change or cancel your registration except you.
- The Arkansas VINE Program only provides information on offenders in custody in Arkansas.
- You can call VINE as often as you want from any touch-tone telephone.
- When you receive a call about an upcoming parole hearing, please remember that the date is subject to change and you will NOT be notified by VINE of the change. Therefore, it is your responsibility to contact the Parole Board as the date gets near to find out if it has been changed.
- If the offender is in the Arkansas Department of Corrections, please contact the Victim Witness Coordinator to receive notifications by mail.