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ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: AD 18-10 Employee Timekeeping, Compensation and 

Promotions 
 
TO: Arkansas Community Correction (ACC) Employees 
 
FROM: Sheila Sharp, Director 
 
SUPERSEDES: AD 17-39 
 
APPROVED:           Signature on File           EFFECTIVE:  July 9, 2018 
 
 
 I.  APPLICABILITY. This policy applies to all ACC employees. 
 
 II. POLICY. All ACC positions are classified as exempt, nonexempt or 207(k) (7K) law 

enforcement exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Supervisors of nonexempt 
and 7K law enforcement employees are required to hold employees accountable to the 
established regular workweek standard unless overtime hours of work are necessary and 
approved to facilitate operations. 

 III. DEFINITIONS. 

A. Banked Time. Balance of accrued leave (annual, sick, overtime or holiday). 

B. Overtime. Time physically worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek for 
nonexempt employees and in excess of 86 hours in a 2-week pay period for 7K exempt 
employees. 

C. Straight Time. Time physically worked up to 40 hours in a pay period for non-
exempt employees and up to 86 hours in a pay period for 7K exempt employees. 

D. Promotion. An employee’s change in duty assignment from a position in one 
classification to a position in another classification of a higher salary grade within the 
same pay table. 

E. Demotion. An employee’s change in duty assignment from a position in one 
classification to a position in a lower classified position within the same pay table. 

F. Transfer. Transferring to another position within the state under the same job 
classification of title, grade, and pay as their current position or between pay tables. 
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 IV. TIME KEEPING. 

A. Time Sheets. All time sheets must reflect the exact time the employee physically 
worked, any paid leave, and leave without pay. 

B. Time Entry Requirements. All employees must have ALL time entered by noon on 
Wednesday prior to payroll processing.  Payroll processing occurs the Monday before 
each pay day.  Supervisors are to have all leave and time approved by 8:00 a.m. the 
very next morning (Thursday).  It is mandatory for employees to contact their local 
timekeeper with any time entry questions that would affect payroll after the noon 
deadline.  Timekeepers are to verify time is entered for employees from their 
area/center and are to contact HRS with any time entry questions that would affect 
payroll.  Any necessary changes can be made in the following payroll cycle. 

C. Timekeeping Records. Non-exempt and all 7K exempt employees must accurately 
complete and submit time sheets through Empowering Arkansas State Employees 
(EASE) in sufficient time for the timekeeper to meet the payroll schedule.  All 
employees must complete leave request forms and comply with guidance in this 
policy. 

D. Determining FLSA Designation. FLSA designations for each position classification 
within the state Classification and Compensation Act are determined and assigned by 
OPM.  If the FLSA designation of the position occupied by the employee is in question, 
the appropriate Deputy Director must contact the HRS Administrator and request a 
classification status review.  The HRS Administrator will submit the Request for Review 
to OPM. 

E. Non-Exempt. Non-exempt employees are those whose functional job duties and 
responsibilities do not meet the FLSA exemption test and are therefore entitled to be 
compensated for hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek. Non-exempt employees 
will be compensated for overtime hours actually worked above 40 hours in a workweek 
with compensatory time banked at the rate of 1.5 times the number of hours worked.  
Non-exempt employees will be compensated with pay for overtime exceeding 240 hours 
at the rate of 1.5 times their regular rate of pay. 

F.   Exempt. Employees whose positions meet specific tests established by the FLSA and 
state law and are exempt from the FLSA overtime provisions.  Exempt employees are 
paid on an annual salary basis. 

G. 7K Law Enforcement (Partially Exempt).  Employees categorized as 7K law 
enforcement personnel are partially exempt from the FLSA and will record time based 
on a standard 14-day work period (80 to 86 hours).  The partial exemption provides that 
employees are paid at their regular work schedule rate of pay for the first 80 hours they 
physically work.  Those hours physically worked between 80 and 86 hours will be 
counted as 7K Exemption Gap and placed in the employee’s banked 7K Exemption 
Gap account.  Any time physically worked in excess of 86 in the 14-day work period is 
counted at a rate of one and one half times and is banked in the employee’s overtime 
account.  The 7K exempt employee will be paid for overtime exceeding 480 hours. 
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H. Leave Records.  Supervisors and timekeepers must ensure timekeeping records are 
forwarded to the new supervisor and timekeeper when an employee transfers, promotes 
or demotes to another position within the ACC.  When an employee leaves the agency, 
leave records are to be maintained by the timekeeper under the records retention policy.  
All records are electronic after April 22, 2017. 

I.   Use of Banked Holidays, Straight Time, 7K Exemption Gap, and Overtime.  
Overtime may only be worked with the approval of an Assistant Area Manager, Assistant 
Center Supervisor, staff supervisor, or higher.  “Authorization to Work Overtime” form 
must be used to request overtime.  Employees are required to use banked leave in the 
following sequence: holiday, overtime, 7K Exemption Gap, straight time, annual leave, 
and leave without pay (LWOP) unless an exception is permitted in this policy.  If an 
employee requests annual leave, the supervisor must confirm an EASE employee has 
adequate time prior to approving the leave request.   An employee who requests to use 
banked holidays, 7K Exemption Gap, straight time, overtime or annual leave may be 
permitted to do so within a reasonable period after making the request as long as it does 
not affect critical operations of the agency.  The minimum amount of banked holiday, 7K 
Exemption Gap, straight time or overtime that can be requested is fifteen (15) minutes.  
If an employee is in danger of losing annual leave at the end of the year, a supervisor may 
allow the employee to use annual leave before using banked holiday, straight time, and 
overtime. 

J.   Leave Time. Benefit vs. Entitlement.  Benefits consist of holidays, annual and sick 
leave. Entitlements are overtime, 7K Exemption Gap, and straight time.  Under no 
circumstance must a benefit be converted into an entitlement by counting it toward the 
hours the employee physically works. For example, a non-exempt employee uses 8 hours 
sick leave on Monday, then physically works 10 hours on Tuesday, 9 hours on 
Wednesday, 8 hours on Thursday and 8 hours on Friday.  The employee would have a 
total of 35 hours physically worked and 8 hours of sick leave for a total of 43 hours.  
Forty (40) hours is all that is required for the pay week; therefore, the number of sick 
leave hours charged must be reduced from 8 to 5.  Timekeepers should inform the 
supervisor and employee of the necessary corrections and then make the appropriate 
changes to AASIS.  Under no circumstance will 3 hours be added to the employee’s 
banked straight time account. 

K. Leave Entry Restrictions.  Leave must not be entered farther ahead than the current 
calendar year.  

L. Employee Leave – Additional Guidance.  There is additional guidance about 
employee leave in the policy titled “Employee Leave.”  
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 V. COMPENSATION. 

A. Upon Hire.  The ACC will not accept leave balances transferred from other State 
agencies for7K Exemption Gap, straight time, or overtime. 

B. Promotion.  An employee who is promoted shall receive the maximum annual salary for 
which he or she is eligible as follows: 

 
 1. For a promotion to a position of a higher grade on the same pay table, the 

employee's maximum rate of pay shall be increased up to ten percent (10%). 

 2. An employee who upon promotion is receiving a rate of pay below the lowest 
entrance pay level established for the new grade will be adjusted to that lowest 
entrance pay level for that grade; however, an employee’s rate of pay upon 
promotion cannot exceed the maximum pay level of the grade assigned to the 
classification. 

 
 3. When an employee promotes to a different agency or institution, the originating 

agency or institution must pay all accumulated compensatory time and overtime to 
the employee at the time of transfer. 

 4. Non-exempt employees promoting to an exempt classification must have all 
accumulated compensatory time and overtime paid at the time of transfer.  Payment 
will be at the rate prior to promotion. 

C. Job Series Promotions. 

1. Correctional Officer (Residential Supervisors). 
 Only a CO I may become eligible to be promoted to a Corporal.  This promotion 

will be processed following Human Resources’ (HR) receipt of the form titled 
“Promotion Recommendation for Correctional Officer I to Corporal” with 
authorized signatures.  The authorized signatures verify that the CO I has met the 
following criteria: 
• completed the one year probationary period 
• completed the RSBT Training Academy within the first 9 months of 

employment with ACC or within an extended period approved by the Deputy 
Director of Residential Services 

• successfully completed the Security Officer Training Program. An employee that     
has not successfully completed this program will not be eligible for promotion 
until fully completed 

• must have obtained an overall “Needs Development” or above on their most 
recent performance evaluation 

 
    If an employee receives a disciplinary action with a probationary period that extends 

past his or her 12 month probationary period, he or she will not be eligible for 
promotion until disciplinary probation is complete. 
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    Promotion will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the promotion will 
not go into effect until the Promotion Recommendation Form is received in HR.  
The documentation provided to HR will be placed in the employee’s personnel file. 

     
    If an employee cannot attend the required RSBT Academy within the first 9 months 

of employment due to extenuating circumstances, the Deputy Director of Residential 
Services must approve a requested extension.   

2. Parole/Probation Officer. 
 

a. Promotion from PPO I to PPO II 
 Only a PPO I may become eligible to be promoted to a PPO II.  This promotion 

will be processed following Human Resources’ (HR) receipt of a copy of the 
signed F7 (Application for Award of Law Enforcement Officer Certificate) 
submitted to the Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training 
(CLEST) with authorized signatures and the form “Promotion Recommendation 
for PPO I to PPO II.”  The authorized signatures verify that the PPO I has met 
the following criteria: 
• continuously employed as a PPOI for one-year period 
• successfully completed ACC basic PPO Training Academy, as well as 

Firearms Qualification 
• successfully completed the Field Training Officer Program 
• obtained an overall “Needs Development” or above on their most recent 

performance evaluation 
• If an employee receives a disciplinary action with a probationary period that 

extends past his or her 12 month probationary period, he or she will not be 
eligible for promotion until disciplinary probation is complete 

 
 Promotion will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the promotion 

will not go into effect until the official certification is received in HR from 
CLEST.  The documentation provided to HR will be placed in the employee’s 
personnel file. 

 
 If an employee cannot attend the required PPO Academy within the first 9 

months of employment due to extenuating circumstances, the Deputy Director 
of Parole/Probation Services must approve a requested extension.  If approved, 
the employee will not receive a promotion to a PPO II until completion of the 
required PPO Academy and previously stated eligibility criteria. 

 
b. Promotion from PPO II to an Agent 
 Only ACC employees in PPO II positions (excluding those assigned to 

institutions) may voluntarily apply for promotion to a Parole/Probation Agent 
(Agent).  The PPO II must meet the criteria on the form titled “Promotion to 
Agent Application.” 

 
• served in a PPO II position for two consecutive years immediately prior to     

application for Agent 
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• current on firearms requalification prior to his/her scheduled Promotion 
Board interview 

• obtained an overall rating of “Needs Development” or above the first year as 
PPO II and an overall rating of “Solid Performer” or above on the  most 
recent performance evaluation as a PPO II 

• If an employee receives a disciplinary action with a probationary period that 
extends past his or her second year period, he or she will not be eligible for 
promotion until disciplinary probation is complete 

• current on defensive tactics refresher course prior to his/her scheduled PB 
interview 

• passed the PPA written examination with a minimum of 80%.  If an 
employee fails the written examination, that employee will have an additional 
opportunity to take and pass the examination with a minimum score of 80%.  
If the employee fails the examination the second time, the employee must 
wait a period of six months to retake the examination and must pass with a 
minimum score of 80% 

• successfully completed ACC’s Leadership Course before scheduled  
Promotion Board interview 

• has current CPR/First Aid certifications 
• received a favorable promotion recommendation by the Parole/Probation 

Promotion Board with at least a score of 80 out of 100 total interview points 
• PPO IIs who were not promoted must wait six months before applying again 

 
 Promotions will result in an increase of one salary grade; however, the 

promotion will not go into effect until the completed Parole/Probation 
Recommendation Summary form is received in HR. The documentation 
provided to HR will be placed in the employee’s personnel file. 

D. Demotion.  When an employee is demoted for cause or voluntarily solicits a demotion, 
his or her rate of pay shall be: 

 1. For a demotion to a position of a lower grade on the same pay table, the employee's 
maximum rate of pay shall be decreased up to ten percent (10%). 

 2. If the employee’s salary falls below the entry pay level of the new grade upon 
demotion, his/her salary will be adjusted to entry level for that grade. 

 
 3. An employee’s rate of pay upon a demotion cannot exceed the amount provided by 

the maximum pay level of the grade assigned to the classification. 
 
 4. An employee returning within 12 months after a promotion to a position or 

classification that they previously occupied is eligible for a rate of pay not greater 
than that for which the employee would have been eligible had they remained in the 
lower-graded classification. 
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E. Transfer.  An employee transferring positions from one pay table, either within the 
same agency or a different agency, may receive a change in pay if one of the following 
occurs: 

 
1.  The employee’s salary falls below the entry pay level of the new grade then the 

employee’s salary will be adjusted to the entry pay level. 
 

2. The rate of pay must not exceed the maximum pay level.  
 

3. When an employee transfers to another agency, the originating agency must pay the 
employee for all accumulated compensatory time and overtime accrued at the time 
of transfer. 

F.  Retirement.  Employees are permitted to defer to the State 457 Deferred Compensation 
Plan for all, or a portion, of their final lump sum monies (comprised of unused sick or 
vacation leave) provided the employee follows the requirements of the program.  For 
more information on Deferred Compensation please click this link Arkansas Diamond 
Deferred Compensation Plan information.  Employees should discuss this option with 
HRS before their termination due to retirement. 

G. Termination.  Upon termination from employment, the employee shall receive payment 
for any unused annual leave, birthdays, and holidays, not to exceed 240 hours, and 
straight time and overtime at the employee’s final regular rate of pay.  7K Exempt 
employees will receive all unused holidays.  Time will be paid the first full pay period 
after the termination. 

H. Pay Periods.  Biweekly pay periods run from Sunday of one week through Saturday of 
the following week.  Employees are paid every other Friday for time worked through 
the preceding payroll cycle.  The time sheet is used to record hours worked by non-
exempt and all 7K exempt employees during the pay period. A pay period schedule is 
retained in HRS. 

I. Meal, Rest and Fitness Breaks.  Generally, non-exempt employees assigned to posts 
or workstations requiring constant staffing may be allowed a 15-minute paid rest break in 
the morning and in the afternoon, at times approved by the supervisor.  ACC Residential 
Centers are the only locations that require constant staffing; however, breaks may not be 
approved at times of staff shortages.  They must be completely relieved of their duties 
and free to leave the post during this time.  Although other employees may be allowed 
the same, it is not a right, but a privilege at the discretion of the supervisor.  When rest 
breaks are authorized, they may be combined for the purpose of participating in fitness 
activities and may not exceed 30 minutes. 

 All employees not assigned to a post are required to take a 30 minute unpaid lunch break 
and may be allowed up to a 60 minute unpaid lunch break, depending on their approved 
work schedule.  This break may not be combined with rest breaks, nor taken to leave 
work early or arrive late.  When an employee does not take a break during the day the 
benefit is lost.  Aside from the breaks described above, there are no other authorized 
breaks. 

https://myplan.voya.com/einfo/planinfo.aspx?cl=GOVCR1&pl=711001PU&page=plan_informationintroduction&s=&d=740620eb6dac9ba6b358738b9270ac6c9052ea87
https://myplan.voya.com/einfo/planinfo.aspx?cl=GOVCR1&pl=711001PU&page=plan_informationintroduction&s=&d=740620eb6dac9ba6b358738b9270ac6c9052ea87
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J. On-Call Time.  Time spent on-call, under circumstances where the time can be used 
effectively for personal purposes, is not compensable.  An employee who is not required 
to remain on ACC premises but is only required to notify ACC officials where he/she 
may be reached or carry a cell phone is not working while “on call.”  To be 
considered as compensable on-call time, an employee must be restricted from 
using the time for his or her personal pursuits.  Should an employee be called in while 
on-call, pay begins when the employee receives the call.  The employee must report 
immediately and no later than one (1) hour after receiving the call.  An employee who 
reports later than one (1) hour will be paid beginning upon arrival.  Should the employee 
be released before the end of the shift or the end of their regular work schedule, on-call 
pay will be stopped when the employee leaves the premises. 

K. Workers Compensation.  Employees who are absent from work due to a temporary 
occupational injury or illness and who are entitled to Workers’ Compensation benefits 
may use their accrued leave as a supplement to such benefits not to exceed the 
employee’s regular salary rate of pay per pay period.  Contact the ACC Agency Human 
Resources Manager in Human Resources for more information. 

L. Over-payments.  Employees are responsible for monitoring personal bank account 
direct deposits from ACC to ensure accurate compensation.  In the event of an 
overpayment, the employee must contact his/her supervisor and Human Resources 
Section immediately for corrective action.  Employees will be held accountable for 
refunding all overpayments back to the agency. An employee’s lack of cooperation in 
refunding the agency can lead to disciplinary action up to termination. 

M. Compensable Time for Training/Travel.  If an ACC employee is required to attend 
training or a meeting on a weekend or regular day off, the time must be counted as time 
worked.  It must be counted toward the pay period.  Any time worked over these 
scheduled hours may be counted as straight or over time, whichever applies.  Travel to 
and from training is also compensable as time worked.  Travel time for training begins 
from the employee’s physical place of employment and ends upon return to the 
employee’s work location.  If unforeseeable events prevent an employee from arriving at 
their destination in a timely manner, the supervisor must be notified immediately.  
Specific questions regarding whether training time is compensable should be directed to 
the HRS Administrator.  Employees must receive approval before attending training.  
Hours in preparation for a license or certification exam cannot be counted toward 
compensated time. 

N. Additional Compensation Information.  There are other sources for compensation 
information including the “Employee Leave” policy.  
 

 VI. ATTACHMENTS AND FORMS LIST. 
 

Attachment 1 Guidelines for PPO to Agent Promotions 
AD 18-10 Form 1 Authorization to Work Overtime  
AD 18-10 Form 2 Promotion Recommendation for COI to Corporal 
AD 18-10 Form 3 Promotion Recommendation for PPOI to PPOII 
AD 18-10 Form 4 Promotion to Agent Application 
AD 18-10 Form 5 Promotion Recommendation
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Attachment 1 
Arkansas Community Correction 

Guidelines for PPO to Agent Promotions 

In the process of becoming eligible to become an Agent, all candidates must take and pass all 
tests and evaluation exercises as follows: 

1. Procedures for Requesting Promotion to Agent 
 

A PPO may begin the qualification process for promotion to Agent at any time after 
obtaining the PPO II level for 2 years. There is no set order in which the PPO II must 
accomplish promotion requirements, except that the firearms requalification, defensive 
tactics, CPR/First Aid, and Leadership Training need to be currently up to date. 

 
A PPO II may request promotion to Agent by initiating the Parole / Probation 
Promotion Summary form and forwarding it through an Assistant Area Manager to the 
Area Manager. The Area Manager will establish a file for maintaining promotion 
documents and activity. For consistency, the promotion file folder will be a standard 
layout with six sides, as follows: Side 1 - Application/Summary Sheet; Side 2 - Two 
Consecutive Performance Evaluations (Solid Performer or above on the most recent 
performance evaluation as a PPOII while rating Needs Development or above on the 
previous year’s evaluation) and any other requested personnel information; Side 3 – 
Leadership Training Results; Side 4 - Written Examination Results; Side 5 - CPR/First 
Aid/Defensive Tactics Evaluations; Side 6 - Firearms Training; CPR/First Aid 
Certification, 

 
2. File Review of Training, Performance Appraisals, Disciplinary 

and Other Records. 
 

The supervisor will conduct a file review to determine whether the employee scored 
Solid Performer or greater on their last most recent annual performance evaluations.   
If the employee has been disciplined (excluding verbal warning) for inappropriate 
behavior or violation of policy, he or she will not be eligible for promotion until the 
disciplinary probation is complete. 

 
3. Leadership Training. 

 
Candidates will be required to attend a 40 hour Leadership training conducted through the 
Central Training Section (CTS) before the Promotion Board (PB) interview. Central 
Training Section will have necessary curriculum in various areas related to leadership. 
Supervisors will help coordinate time and dates for this training with CTS. 
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4. First Aid, CPR, Defensive Tactics, Firearms Requalification 
 

Certification or re-certification of CPR/First Aid, Defense Tactics and Firearms must be 
accomplished prior to the projected date of the PB interview. The Central Training Section 
(CTS) will assist in providing scheduled training for CPR and Defense Tactics. Area Managers 
will facilitate firearms requalification for applicants. The results will be recorded on the 
Parole/Probation Promotion Summary. 

 
5. Preparation 

To facilitate demonstration of best efforts, promotion applicants may want to initiate early 
physical fitness activities and mental preparation prior to requesting consideration for 
promotion examinations, evaluations, and performance testing.  Some helpful preparation 
resources could include job-related areas of agency policy and procedures, training materials, 
administrative regulations and directives, including but not limited to the following: 

• The Parole/Probation Services Manual 

• Interstate Compact Rules and Training Manuals; 

• Use of Force, Safety and Security and other job related agency policies; 

• Practice on the firing range; 

• Defensive tactics training materials, and practice application; 

• Review of first aid and CPR training materials, and practice application; 

• Agency Employee Handbook; and 

 
6. Policy/Procedure Examination 

 
Assistant Directors for Parole/Probation (AD), Deputy Director for Parole Probation Services 
and others as designated by the Director will be responsible for administering the exam. An AD 
will be scheduled by the Deputy Director of Parole/Probation Services for each exam. Each 
applicant must take and pass a written test covering various aspects of ACC policies, procedures, 
and practices. A passing score is 80% or above. 

 
7. Test Results 

 
Applicants who fail an exam may retest at the next scheduled opportunity.  If not successful 
following the retest, the applicant may repeat the application process six months after the retest 
date. 
 
The promotion applicant is responsible to obtain test results recorded on a Promotion Summary 
and appropriately signed at each point of testing. Promotion Summary Form is forwarded to the 
Human Resources Section for promotion processing and placement in the employee’s personnel 
file. 

 

file://dcc-co-b-1/dcc/Agency%20Info/Handbooks/4006.pdf
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8. Promotion Board Interview 
 

A supervisor may schedule an applicant for the PB interview following satisfaction of all other 
requirements. 
 
Agent applicants successful in each of the required areas of testing/evaluation will be scheduled 
through the Area Manager by the Assistant Director for Parole/Probation Services for the 
Promotion Board interview. 

 
The PB interviews will be scheduled to meet as necessary and scheduled by the Deputy Director of 
Parole/Probation Services. A panel consists of three PB members for each promotion interview. 
The Deputy Director (P/P Services) may appoint an Assistant Director (P/P Services) to chair or 
chair the PB him/herself. The Deputy Director or his/her designee will notify staff of PB 
interview dates. The applicant will dress in business attire for the interview and hand carry their 
Promotion Files to the PB the day of the interview. 
Promotion documents should not be altered in any way. The file should reflect satisfaction of all 
promotion requirements as described above. If the file does not reflect all requirements, it will be 
returned to the Area Manager. The PB Chair will notify the appropriate Area Manager of the 
interview results within one business day of the decision. The PB chair must ensure the PB 
members sign and date the Promotion Summary, approving promotion to Agent. The PB will be 
the final decision on agent promotions. 

 
Applicants recommended by the PB will be promoted to Agent effective the first day of the next 
pay period. A promotion ceremony will be held to confer honors to those approved by the PB 
and promoted to Agent. 
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